Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Voy Spears Junior Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 625 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2010

My daughter attended Voy Spears for Kindergarten and 1st grade. She loved it. Everyone is great. The school is organized. Since we lived in the neighborhood, it gave a real neighborhood feel. We have since moved to Florida and regret the schools here. My daughter is attending one of the best schools here and it still does not compare well with Voy Spears. Oh well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

I had a child who started Kindergarten at Voy Spears when it first opened and has now since moved on. However, the experience my child received at this school laid the foundation for future success. Everyone from the teachers and principal to the janitor all take a genuine interest in the care and well being of the students here. The PTA is phenomenal and goes above and beyond to help the school and staff. I loved this school and am happy that my child got to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I did my student teaching at this school and it is a wonderful place!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 7, 2007

This school is incredible! In three years, we have had wonderful teachers and the PTA is unbeatable! The parent and family involvement enriches the school environment. The music teacher, Mrs. Gard, truly brought out a love for music in my daughter. Her teachers, Mrs. Althaus and Mrs. Piedimonte, were fabulous. She had Mrs. Piedimonte for 2 years, and this was truly an awesome experience. Such a bond was formed between the teacher and students in the class. We are moving out of the district and I hope our new school is as wonderful as Voy Spears. It will be a tough act to follow! ~Jenn Rogers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Great school. My daughter loves this school. Teachers are excellent. They also have a great before and after school program. Leadership in the school is outstanding and teacher/principal are always available to discuss anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Our daughter has been attending Voy Spears since the day the doors opened in 2002! We love Voy Spears and so does she. Her teachers have been fabulous and it a very safe, friendly and suburban school. Not much exposure to culture here though - lacks alot of diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

We just moved here from California, and we were in a good school in comparison to schools there, and this school really blows that school away. My wife and I are so happy and our kids are doing so well in school, and actually having fun learning. My son was in third grade last year, and they piled homework on him all the time, without teaching him what he was doing the homework for. We love this school and the District.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students77%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 75%
Black 12% 17%
Asian 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 NE Anderson
Lee's Summit, MO 64064
Phone: (816) 478-9899

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tri-City Christian School
Independence, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT