Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 304 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

Definitely the best of the best! They do an amazing job teaching to the individual child and helping them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

Franklin is a great elementary school. We were new to the district at the end of last year and this year, the 2013-14 school year, we have two children attending Franklin. Our oldest came from a school in another state with a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 and since she began attending Franklin, we've seen a dramatic improvement in her academic performance. There is a genuine feeling of kindness and caring from all of the staff. They really seem to know how to keep the children focused on school. Franklin really sets high standards for how every elementary school should be. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to move into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

This school needs improvement. It used to be a good school, but I think they got too confident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

We love everything about the school. It is not only your child's teacher that is involved with your child but every adult in the building at Franklin Elementary give their time and attention to your child. I don't think I have been to a better school with a staff so caring about every student in the building. They even make sure the younger sibiling feel welcome and excited about being at their school. We will miss being at Franklin as we had to transfer to a new school. It seems to be the best Elementary school in the Liberty district (we have been to a couple of them). It is a very close family at this school and everybody is treated that way. There is great communication throughout the building and we could not say enough good things about the staff. We honestly will miss Franklin and their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I cannot tell you how impressed we have been with the teachers and principal at Franklin. They are truly a dedicated group of educators. We were thrilled when a phone call came from school offering our son additional instruction that would improve his test taking skills and mastery of language arts skills. Every teacher at Franklin volunteered their time before school to give kids the extra instruction they need. Even the principal worked with a group of students each week before regular school hours. Franklin Elementary School is the finest school in Liberty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

We moved to Liberty at the beginning of this school year. Franklin Elementary is a great small neighborhood school with an excellent teaching staff. We feel fortunate that our daughter is able to attend a stellar public school (to which she can walk!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

Liberty School District in my mind is the best public school district in KC, hands down. My daughter is in her last year at Franklin and I cannot say enough about the quality of education that she has received then. My only regret is that my son will not be able to attend since the move outside of Liberty, but at least he will still be in the district. Franklin is a school that others should emulate...go Franklin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

Liberty Schools are the best. Franklin is amazing. My child is incredibly fortunate to have had this school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2003

Franklin is the best kept secret in Liberty. It is a true neighborhood school, built in 1939. It keeps its historic feel with strong community support. Franklin teachers and Principal have a strong bond with each other and lots of school pride and it shows in how they teach. Franklin is a wonderful school in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Black 6% 17%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 West Mill
Liberty, MO 64068
Phone: (816) 736-5440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St James School
Liberty, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT