Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pierremont Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My daughter has had a wonderful kindergarten year at Pierremont. The teachers and staff are warm and friendly. My daughter has had a greater opportunity than our older child that attended another elementary years before. What I found very important is this years slogan "Pierremont were everybody knows your name" was spot on, in a school of 400 I was surprised to find that everyone knew my little girl. The technology in the classroom was impressive with computers for the kids and smart boards. The stress urgency of fitness and nutrition for a healthy way of life was nice. Though I would say that I was overwhelmed by the amount of fundraising to raise the pto budget of 27000, with 400 students it cost roughly 75per student which I would have rather paid than have an endless stream of fundraisers coming home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

My son has learned a lot at this school...however, he had a VERY rough first two years. I would receive calls nearly every day for his inability to "make good choices" (for example, fidgeting, not really wanting to do a task he's already done 10 times). Then the counselor suggested he may need to be medicated because surely his fidgeting was related to his having ADD or autism, despite the fact that this suggestion was completely unsupported by his pediatrician. I later found out from at least 7 other parents' kids in his class that the counselor had suggested that their kids also had medical issues due to similar problems. I was seriously considering putting him in a different school, but this year he seems to have found the right teacher and greater maturity and is truly flourishing. I'm very disappointed, however, in this school's readiness to recommend medical treatments for kids who "make bad choices."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My 3 children attended this warm and wonderful school.They were all well-prepared in academic and social skills and have grown into successful, contributing adults. I give much credit to the educators and atmosphere of tolerance, respect, and high standards set at Pierremont.


Posted August 21, 2008

I had 2 boys attend Pierremont and they had nothing but wonderful memories. They learned structure and honesty. The counselor was caring and very helpful to our family. Every teacher they had did a great job in teaching them more than just the basics, taking time with them individually when needed. They have moved on to Middle School and have had a hard time adjusting to cruelty of children from other elementary schools. It's a shame all schools don't teach Respect, Honesty and Caring for Others the way Pierremont does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Pierremont Elementary is a school of highly dedicated and supportive teachers. They truly care for each student and put learning on the highest of priorities. Our musical performances every year our phenomenal. It is impossible to walk the hallways and not be impressed with the amazing artwork done by Pierremont students. We have now experienced Pierremont teachers at every grade level. We have had only great experiences with each and every one of them. They never fail to impress! We will miss the Pierremont community when our children move on to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My oldest child (who has gone on to middle school) had an average experience here, but for my younger child, it has been fantastic. Five years of excellent teachers and small class sizes. As far as Pierremont focusing too much on MAP testing, I'm afraid that will be the case at just about any Parkway (or any public school in St. Louis). Pierremont has an excellent new art teacher which is great, the gifted education teacher has been a favorite of both my children and Pierremont has an excellent library and library staff. On the negative side, parental/PTO involvement could use a lot of improvement. Many of the really involved parents have move on to middle school and there haven't been many 'newer' parents that have stepped up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Teachers and principal are far too concerned with MAP testing. It seems my child only learns / hears about is the test - nothing practical and sensible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Both of my children have done very well at Pierremont. My son is in 1st grade and my daughter is in kindergarten. I spend a lot of time with both of my kids with reading, writing, and math-even though one of them is gifted. Teachers do a lot of work and are stretched with dealing with kids who require more attention. Parents need to be more accountable and be involved with their kids' education and if you are having issues with a teacher, speak up-they do listen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My 1st grade son had a horrible year last year. He was always in trouble with his teacher - for what I considering to be pointless things such as playing with his eraser. When the class had a student teacher he did fine and learned a lot. I also felt that the communication was more open with the student teacher, she was more willing to try things that the actual classroom teacher. The only reason we stayed in the district was because our move fell through. Luckily, my son is having a better year. I feel tha Ms Cain needs to reconsider some of her staff so that students actual enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My 1st grader started below level in reading rating an 'A' on the reading chart. He is now reading well into the 2nd grade level at the completion of 1st grade. Congratulations, Miss Tobin & Miss Bach on a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Why is it that the pressure is put on the students to excell in math, and the test scores are down signifgantly for reading and communication this year, concentrate on the students not the hiring of friends for teachers, and the scores will go up. My kindergardener comes home with math homework every day, but I'm teaching him to read at home. Ms. Cain needs to reevaluate the communication program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students70%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 2%
Black 7% 17%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathleen Cain
Fax number
  • (314) 415-6612

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 Dauphine Ln
Manchester, MO 63011
Phone: (314) 415-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT