Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rose Acres Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 465 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2011

I am in 9th grade and I was soooo inspired by this school that I want to come back and teach 1st grade. I loved every year there, including the teachers, the nurse, and everyone else! I love you Rose Acres!!!


Posted November 8, 2008

This school is da bomb!! One of our custodians may even be the favorite employee chosen by all students. That's how great there staff is. The other staff is really good to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

I just Graduated from Rose Acres Elementary and i think it's one of the best schools in America.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

I am very happy with Rose Acres. My daughter is in kindergarten and the staff and the teachers work very hard with her and her teacher keeps us informed daily with how her day is and if she needs to work on anything in particular. The principal is among the students and making sure that everyone is safe and accounted for and the same goes for the teachers. The librarian is awesome. She helps all of the students find the books they want or need and she has the library is a very comfortable place to visit. Plus her lessons are very well thought out. They have lots of activities for the kids through out the year like movies for the family, a carnival, and a talent show. They always have the kids art work and work displayed too. It's been a great school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

We are new to the community of Rose Acres and received a warm welcome from the staff and Principal. The Principal and teachers are concerned with the education and emotional development of the children. My son started attending Rose Acres in January of 2006 and his teacher was very helpful in getting us current with class information provided to the parents and students in the beginning of the year. It made the transition easier for my son and he felt comfortable. He enjoys his school. I would also like to say it was great seeing the Principal at a weekend roller skating event which shows by example an excellent school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

Rose Acres is an excellent school! They make learning fun. We have 3 kids attending from pre-k to 3rd. We've had some really fabulous teachers for the most part. Any problems that arose were always well handled. Don't think you could find a better principal. He always goes out of his way to help. And in seeing the test scores, they've done a tremendous job. We're moving next year, and leaving such a great school is what we'll miss the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

I could disagree more with one of the prior postings. As a parent, I've been active at Rose Acres for the past 3 years. I've found the teachers and principal to not only be caring and genuine - but knowledgeable and forwarding thinking. I've seen and analyzed the test scores - and the scores are excellent and continue to rise. It's unfortunate that the other poster has not had a positive experience with the school. I simple want to say that I don't think their comments are reflective of most parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

This school has some severe problems! The quality of teachers are not the same at every grade level . Over crowding has become a problem. The principal just 'puts out fires' and does not see the whole picture. The parent who shows up most gets what they want. Test scores are sub par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Rose Acres is great! We love it, our kid loves it. Most of the teachers and principal really show caring and go the extra mile to help shape the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students88%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students86%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students82%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 74%
Black 16% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2905 Rose Acres Ln
Maryland Heights, MO 63043
Phone: (314) 213-8017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Christian Academy
Maryland Heights, MO


Parkwood Elementary School
Maryland Heights, MO


Holy Spirit Catholic School
Maryland Heights, MO


Mckelvey Elementary School
Maryland Heights, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT