Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gratz Brown Elementary School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

Gratz Brown is a school with dedicated teachers that assist students to become life long learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The teachers and staff make it a fun and safe learning environment for kids from all backgrounds and home lives to come to each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My son has had a good year and come along way in most all of his subjects. His teacher is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The students and staff are wonderful at Gratz Brown Elementary. Students are provided everyday with so many wonderful opportunities and teaching moments to assist in helping them to become great citizens. The teachers are dedicated and give some much time and energy into their teaching. It is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Gratz Brown Elementary is where I work. It is a great school. All the Faculty and Staff work hard together as a team to make it the best school that it can be. The children here are all good hard working, respectful students. We have a great PTO organization that works hard to make money for our school and they really support our teachers and staff. Gratz Brown is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My son finished 5th grade at GBE this spring. His teacher Ms. Johnson was awesome. She expected alot out of her children and in return her class excelled. She always kept me informed of how my child was doing. She has given my son the tools he needs to acomplish great things in school years to come. I do wish the secretaries were a little more friendly. They are the first people you come in contact with when entering the school and therefore set the tone of a parents visit, thankfully these ladies are secretaries and not teachers so the students don't have to deal with them on a regular bases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My daughter is in 3rd grade and her teacher, Ms. Redig is great. She keeps me informed on everything, and never complains about anything. Since this is my daughter's first year, and I am pleased with how things have gone this far, I think I will be happy with her whole duration with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

All in all thing are fine with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My child is going on her 2nd year at this school and I think the staff and secretaries are rude. They don't inform the parents of anything that is going on with the children. They chooses not to listen to what any of the parents want for their children as well and that really irritates me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I really dislike this school and all of the staff that I've come into contact with at this school. Parents are definately treated like irritants instead of part of the team. The secretaries are rude and the attitude doesn't improve much from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

gratz brown elementary needs to put forth more effort into educating childern .The school acts as if childern are puppets on a string.But it's not the school only that needs a major make over,it is the disrict as a whole. Changes need to start at the central office. If a family moving into this area would ask me about this school, I would have to say I would recommend a different school.Gbe does have a few good qualites but the bad qualities out way the good. I have been involved with gbe since the fisrt day the new school opened its doors .The last three years the school has taken a turn for the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Parents are seemingly deliberately left out of the loop. This school has suffered from a lack of leadership in a town where the emphasis on education is not up to my expectation. G.B.E. has few redeeming qualities in my opinion based on 3-years experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 74%
Black 8% 17%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Della Bell
Fax number
  • (660) 269-8093

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Gratz Brown Rd
Moberly, MO 65270
Phone: (660) 269-2694

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT