Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nixa High School

Public | 9-12 | 1651 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

this school is horrible!!! The teachers can use curse words at the students and you can't do a thing about it! Also i can't believe how bad the administration is!! This school will make your student hate school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2013

Haha all the one stars are submitted by parents.... Anyway, Nixa is awesome. Better than countless other schools I've been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2011

Before I speak my peace on Nixa schools, I will say a few of the few fine qualities about Nixa school district. One, the schools are very safe. You do not have to worry about your children's safety when they are there. Two, the counselors are kind and caring. Three: Graduating early. The administration is so hung up on attendance (MONEY) they forget that students may actually become sick and need to miss for extensive amounts of time. My daughter was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease last year and had to miss quite a lot. Instead of concern, she was shown disrespect for her lack of attendance due to her sickness. Cutting you some slack is an unknown phrase for this school district as well. If your child is mistreated in anyway by a teacher who is a coach, forget any consequences for that specific teacher. They receive nothing more than a slap on the wrist. It is rather pathetic. Teachers show a huge lack of respect for their students. Certain teachers walk all over their students. If you want a fun-loving atmosphere..do not send your child here. They are overly strict..rude..and have their noses so up in the air that they can not see the actual problems in front of their faces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

Way overrated. They were supposed to be better than Springfield but we found just the opposite to be true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

NHS is amazing i love the atmosphere there. they make you feel important.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

I am a student at NHS. I love it here! The people are great. All the teachers want you to do your best and reach your goals. It is a great environment and I will be proud to say I graduated from Nixa. :)Go Eagles!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

As a parent of 2 kids who have been in the district for 9 years, I have been very pleased with the consistent standards and achievements of the district. Nixa is a rapidly growing area and the school leaders have done a fine job in rising to the challenges. The buildings are new and/or well maintained, the standards are high for staff and students, and communication with parents and the community at large is excellent. Nixa tops the conference in academic achievement and is turning out students well prepared to succeed in college or employment of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

I am a freshman at nixa high and i think that this school is the coolest and i cant wait to gradate from nixa!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

My name is Aaron Anderson and I go to Nixa High School. I just moved here from Aplington-Parkersburg Iowa and I think this school is ausome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2005

I am now attending Nixa High School. It is a very good school to attend. I love it. I moved here 2 years ago and everyone is so nice. They made sure you were having a good time in school. I am honered to graduate from this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2005

My son just graduated from Nixa High School in May. He has gone to Nixa since Kindergarten and was diagnosed with learning disabilities in 1st grade. We have been thrilled with the administration and teachers that we have dealt with over the past 13 years. The teachers that my son has been involved with have been the type to 'go that extra mile' to make sure that he accomplished what he had set out to do. My son was on the basketball team, so we were also involved in the sports activities at the school and think highly of the coaching staffs and Athletic Director. In our opinion, our son, couldn't have gone to a better school than Nixa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

My children are now attending this school after we moved here from out-of state. The prgorams lack variety, and there is no advanced placement or honor classes to test the students and prepare them for college. The counselors do care about the students, when they have the time to get around to them. The teachers are hard to reach, and are arrogant when approached. My children were honor students and enrolled in advanced placement classes. Now they are forced to take classes with students who are 'just there to pass the time till they can drop out'. The teachers are VERY unwilling to stay after chool, even if for only 30 minutes to help out a student. Overall, very horrible. My children will finish out the year, then will be homeschooled. At least there, they can be challenged, and actually learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

I recently graduated from Nixa High School. There is no other place I would have rather gone. The support and encouragement I received from my teachers and administrators was outstanding. The school district sincerely cares about each of its students and it strives to achieve excellence in academics, extracurriculars, and community involvement. The students and staff at Nixa High School are very unique and anyone who attends there is truly blessed. The teachers care, they want success for their students, and they motivate even the pupils who resent being there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2004

I went to school at Nixa and graduated in 2002. The junior through senior high school programs and facilities are next to none. The teachers are experienced and the administration exceeds standards in every department. The athletic department is always competitive in the COC, and the theater department is like something that I have never seen. The theater department is what really surprises me. The unity and morals that come out of the department are outstanding thanks to great teachers and the family like atmosphere in that wing of the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

I am not a parent but I am a Nixa High School student. I have attended this school since kindergarden and as of this year I will be a senior. I have experienced the principalss, teachers, classes, students, sports and the positive attitude the schools of Nixa acquires. Our town is situated in the fastest growing county in Missouri, and I feel proud to be a part of it. The schools want the best and are willing to work hard to provide their students education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

My children have been raised in Nixa and they have experienced great social and educational rewards from the outstanding educators that truly care. Thank You Nixa Faculity, parents and kids that are seeking a greater quality of life and a rewarding future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

379 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial73%
American Indiann/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunch68%
Students with disabilities48%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial91%
American Indiann/a
White91%
Free or reduced-price lunch83%
Students with disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial71%
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch62%
Students with disabilities30%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial76%
American Indiann/a
White89%
Free or reduced-price lunch82%
Students with disabilities38%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial72%
American Indiann/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunch72%
Students with disabilities44%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial68%
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 74%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

514 South Nicholas Rd
Nixa, MO 65714
Phone: (417) 724-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kickapoo High School
Springfield, MO


New Covenant Academy
Springfield, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT