Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ft. Zuwmalt West Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1473 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

My daughter is a freshmen this year, so far she hasn't experienced any diffeculties in any of her classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

West Middle school to me was a privledge of going to learn. Everybody was so nice and helpful when I needed help. The teachers there will never be forgotten by my family and will always have a special meanIng to me.


Posted January 18, 2012

This school has too many issues at that. Was there not even a semester before i was thrown out. Kids are just disrespectful and they thought that they could just pick on me without gettin hit. So this school was a MAJOR drop from the other middle schools. Its been awhile Im a sophmore now.


Posted May 4, 2011

While I would like to say positive things about this school I really feel that this school has major flaws. I would like to say it is a "public school issue" but I found fort zumwalt to be very different than the Francis Howell School District. The teachers are not concerned about teaching the children to thier ability and teaching them good learning skills. They allow students to basically do whatever they want until someone complains. They dont push the children to do thier best work or learn good skills and allow students to not turn in work or turn it in late and still give them full credit (how will that help them in life) They act like they want the parents to be involved but then we the parents are, they make them feel like the are overstepping thier bounds and blow them off. I have interviewed FZW high school and have found it to be very similar. My child will attend high school at a private school and my other children will not be attending this school district either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I had a child at both FZ south middle and west middle. Both kids are ADD. South middle clearly was better school in terms of helping identify workable solutions for kids who have disorganizational issues and need good processes to make sure homework comes home and gets turned in on time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I was a current student last year and i was outstanded with my lasting memory there. The students are very bright and so is their grades. The teachers are helpful, plus the afterschool programs were so amasing. The courses are very helpful and fun. Like, FACS, Tech Ed, Art, and Music. The principles are very into their work. It's a beautiful school and it is a very enjoyable place. Hope to have your kids there! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

I went there for half a year.... I kinda liked it. But i had just come from a class of 5 so it was a very difficult move. But besides the huge class sizes i really enjoyed it
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

The quality of teachers here is outstanding. I like the way the 6th graders are essentially segregated from the 8th graders, as there is a world of difference between 12 and 14 years of age. I also like the way the 500+ incoming 6 graders were split into 4 manageable teams of approx.125. Having said that, my only substantial complaint about this middle school is the sheer number of students attending. Over 1500 middle schoolers is an overwhelming number, and that number is more likely to increase than decrease. I think the school handles the students remarkably well, but it is by no means ideal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Other than being a bit crowded, this school has proven to be an excellent institution for my child. We were nervous about switching schools at 8th grade (due to rezoning), but the transition has been a good one. My child is well adjusted and we think the quality of education that she is getting is very solid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I love this school so much. I used to go here last year and I really enjoyed it. The teachers and staff are great!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 18, 2005

West middle is a great school. They sre very safe and they know how to work with kids if they need it. I am a fromer student of west middle. The teachers are so great and I wish I was still in middle school.They make learning fun. Half the time the would playa game with us and little did we know we were actually learning. If you have to send your son/daughter to any school it should be west middle.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

524 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial67%
American Indiann/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilities13%
Limited English proficient students17%

Math

All Students63%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial52%
American Indiann/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilities24%
Limited English proficient students25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students73%
Black47%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial53%
American Indiann/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient students33%

Math

All Students76%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilities28%
Limited English proficient students58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students66%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial61%
American Indiann/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial33%
American Indiann/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities30%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students67%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial61%
American Indiann/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White91%
Free or reduced-price lunch82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 74%
Black 5% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Waterford Crossing
O'fallon, MO 63368
Phone: (636) 272-6690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Messiah Lutheran School
Weldon Spring, MO




St Joseph School
St. Charles, MO


Boonslick School
St. Peters, MO


Saeger Middle School
St Charles, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT