Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crossroads Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 860 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2013

Crossroads Elementary is an awesome school. When you walk in to the office, the staff knows who you are and go above and beyond to help you. The PTO is very active. The new principal is doing a great job and he remembered my son's name after meet the teacher night (which my son thought was pretty cool). Teachers are wonderful. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

You cannot go wrong at this school. All grades have excellent teachers, but schools are more than that. Administrative personnel is just outstanding, Counselors, and all parents so deeply involved with PTA, caring for the kids. Just step by and talk to anybody there, it's all you need to verify
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

This is one of 3 elementary schools my 2 girls have attended. Without a doubt, the best. From the top down, kids are respected. Mr. B, along with many teachers, come to almost all school events, not matter how small. They all seem to know all the kids by name, and most teachers know who the parents are. The center of the community kind of school Test scores are important, the the school environment is equally important, and there is a lot of love here. Sad to see Mr B. leaving after this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

The student to teacher ratio reported here is completely inaccurate. Class size at Crossroads starts with 20 to 21 kids in K and goes up to 27 kids per class in 4th and 5th grade. Class size is out of control and at the maximum for Missouri standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

This is my son 2nd year and we just love this school. Everyone there is great. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son has been attending school at Crossroads for three years and we love it! My middle child will be starting fall of 2010 and we are excited! Principals, teachers and parents are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Crossroads is a fabulous school! The principal and assistant principal are terrific! They are both very involved with the kids. This is how an elementary school should be run. We loved Crossroads. My daughter is now at Frontier Middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

We have been at Crossroads from day one (6 years). The focus from that day has been education, 'doing the right thing' and respect. The kids are getting a good education but are also growing up as strong individuals. Character is emphasized. Parent involvement is encouraged and Crossroads gets the parents to help where needed. Often always the same parents. Fundraising is (as with most schools) overwhelming, too many requests for money. At times there is too much going on at Crossroads, but this is better then not enough. A family orientated school. As with any school there are problems, but there is an open door policy with the adminstration who try to do the right thing for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Both my girls attend this school and we love it. The teachers are beyond wonderful and take the time to make sure your child understands and doesn't get lost in the shuffle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

This school is outstanding! My son came from NORTH COUNTY and began kindergarten and his progress has been nothing bout outstanding! The principal, Mr B is just great. It is amazing when you see the principal at basic meetings at 7pm! THAT shows dedication and a great principal. Teachers are amazing as well! Very personable even though there are a lot of children there. I am so impressed with this school that the only way we'd move is to continue being at Crossroads! Very happy parent and student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

I had a daughter who spent her last 2 years of elementary school here, she is now at Frontier Middle and I have to say that I as a parent personally miss Crossroads. The staff knew us by name and my daughter was treated great. I would highly recommend this school district to anyone who is relocating. Everyone there makes you feel like you are a part of their family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

Our family loves Crossroads. The principal and staff really are involved and make this one of the best schools in the area. We feel so fortunate that our daughter goes to this school. Just walking through the halls you get a feeling of excitement about learning. We can't say enough about Crossroads. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

Crossroads is exceptional. The principal is truly outstanding and very responsive to the needs and concerns of both the parents and the students. He also expects a lot from his staff. Our son has excelled and continues to do very well. We feel that he will be ready for middle school next year. I wish that we could take the principal with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I would recommend this school to anyone that might be moving to this area. My child started here in kindergarten and is excelling at a fast rate. The teachers and principal are all so involved and do so much for the students, beyond just text work. I feel that the community helps along with the school to provide the best for the students. Besides it being so new, they offer many things for parents to be involved in along with the child. They have computers in the classrooms as well as a lab. Music, Art, P.E., library are included in their weekly curriculum. I couldn't ask for a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students77%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 75%
Black 7% 17%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7500 Hwy North
O'Fallon, MO 63368
Phone: (636) 625-4537

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immaculate Conception School
Dardenne Prairie, MO






Green Tree Elementary School
Lake St. Louis, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT