Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Hope Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 601 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

I have a second grader in this school who was a new student this year coming from another equally rated school. Her teacher was amazing. Very well organized, pushed the kids past the basic standards of the state, and was awesome with communication. Everything I asked her was responded to and addressed. My daughter was struggling with math when she came into this school and with the help of her amazing teacher-Mrs. Clements-she is able to do the work without a fight and tears. That itself is an accomplishment. I am unable to speak about the principal as I have not had any interaction as of yet. SO far-very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

My teacher is amazing! I really love this school! Once you walk in there is a teacher either saying Hi or Good Morning! I would recomend this school to everyone. Its amazing! -A student


Posted June 16, 2010

Mount Hope is a very hands on school. Everyone is involved in helping my child learn and improve his grades; from his teacher to the principal to the speech teacher and everyone he comes in contact with in between. I love Mount Hope!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

We've had the same experience with this school's principle to the extent that we removed our child from the school. He needs to be replaced with someone who can do the job. If the economy forces us to put our child back into public school, we will readdress this issue. In the interim, those who cannot afford a better school, education and safe environment in the private sector for their children have to live with this school which is extremely unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I have a kindergartener and 1st grader at this school. The principal does not allow more than 15 min. of homework per night for any grade level and I have had continuous problems with him. We have never had problems in school before and just moved here. Now I feel we are being set up to fail with one child in ISS already. What a dissappointment. Teachers and principal have a hands off, don't want to mess with any challenge attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I have 3 children at Mount Hope. This is an amazing school. They really love parent participation here. You are always welcome at any time. I attended a Catholic School as a child and was worried about sending mine to a public school, but I am thrilled with Mount Hope. When you child hits 5th Grade and gets to go to camp for a week with his classmates, he or she will have a great memory for life. Wish I had that opportunity as a kid. Teachers, staff and principle are A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I have 2 children in this school for the last 5 years and I have nothing but great things to say. I love everything about this school! The teachers have all been terrific and there is any extracurricular activity you could ask for. I don't want to leave out the principal and support staff because they are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

I have 3 children at this school. I love the teachers here. The kids learn so much and the staff is excellent. I believe the staff are the reason this school is so successful in making the school work so well. As far as the principal, he is a nice person, but unattached for the most part with students and families. He needs to become more active with the school and the families. I rarely see him out and about with the kids. I do love this school overall and would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

I have 2 children at Mt Hope, 2nd and 4th grade. I love this school. Our teachers always have had weekly and monthly assignment sheets, weekly progress reports, and great communication. I have a special needs child with Asperger's Syndrome, a form of autism, and have been so lucky with his education at this school and could not be more proud! The academic programs for both my kids have been first rate. They are involved in music, art, and Boy Scouts which meet at the school. The principal has been there many, many years and thouroughly loves each and every child...even my special needs child. I could not be happier! My children are walkers, and the school has always put safety first and really watches and gets involved with each family. Any day you are there, you will see other parents too. Come stay with your child for the day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

I was excited about the prospet of my children attedning a better school I was disapointed.I have three children in this school and since I have limited word space I will summ up the problems with this school.First no communication with the parents.My childern have been at this scholl for several months and I have not talked to their teachers except at conferences..And I have volenteered! there are no weekly reports to tell parents of childrens progress.There is no homework sheets sent home for the older kids so we have no clue what they are studying. Basically I think this school although better funder is worse run.The teachers seem(for the most part)to want to do the minimum.The schools have our children half the day we should have constant communication with staff and be participants in the corriculam.I feel that this school is not living up to that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

My three children attended Mount Hope, First through fifth grade. It was a wonderful school with wonderful, caring Teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students62%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 74%
Black 3% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1099 Mt Hope Ln
O'fallon, MO 63366
Phone: (636) 272-2717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kids Academy
O'Fallon, MO


Assumption School
O'Fallon, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT