Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 607 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2014

I personally went to this school as a child and it was horrible!!!! The teachers were cruel. Once I stuck my tounge out at a substitute teacher and she found out and I sincerely apologized and she told me to my face that I was "A little lier". She then proceded to tell the principle of the school who tools me out of class during a test and screamed at me in the middle of the hallway with the door open so everyone could hear. She then made me write an apology note and when I turned in the apology note she handed it back to me and said it wasn't good enough. This was just one of the many terrible incidents. DO NOT send your children to this school! If your children are in this school and are telling you terrible stories and then you call the school to find out what really happened and they say it was a "misunderstanding" or you child is just lieing. DO NOT BELIEVE THEM!!!!!!!! Believe your child!!!!!


Posted January 14, 2014

I am nothing but over impressed with my daughters school, teachers and overall leadership. Never have I been involved with or enrolled in a school with staff that is as personable and kind as rce. They always have smiles on their faces and most of all, remember mine and my child's name and always have time to stop and answer questions without making me feel like they have better things to do. Kudos to ROCK CREEK ELEMENTARY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

We pulled our kids from another school so they could go to Rock Creek. I believe they are better students because of the staff at Rock Creek. WE LOVE this school and are very happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Rock Creek is an incredible school. We have sent all four of our children there and have been nothing but pleased with their success. Their staff as well as Mrs. McCollough are awesome. We would highly recommend Rock Creek to anyone! Thanks for all you've done for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

We have 4 children at Rock Creek with the oldest in 4th grade. We thought about private school, however, this school has much more to offer. The teachers are very caring and really work with you to ensure they do what is best for my children. I feel confident that we picked the right school for our kids. Parents can be very involved and school is very open to talk to you about your children. I hope the other schools can be this great! Dede is an awesome principal and my kids truly love all their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

This year was my daughter's (Rajah) first time at Rock Creek, coming from a Christian school and I was quite nervous at first, but Rajah blended in quite well. She was so excited about her school, Earth Club, the choir, meeting new friends and of course her 4th Grade teacher, Mrs. Mueller. That is all she talks about. I thank you, Mrs. Mueller, and the staff at Rock Creek for making my child feel welcomed and loved even more. God bless you. -Darlene
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I wish there were more after school activties for 1st graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

this is a great school but I am very disappointed about 5th grade camp. I really hope you can find a way to work things out so we can go
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2007

Wonderful School with excellent faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I have the utmost respect for all the teachers and principal at Rock Creek. My daught went there from the day they opened their doors until she went to middle school. Her gym teacher at Rock Creek got her involved in basketball which resulted in her getting a scholorship. My second daughter was a little apprehensive about starting school but thouroghly enjoyed Rock Creek and was a little social butterfly there. The communication between the teachers, principal and parents were outstanding. The PTA was very strong and very involved and had all the support they needed from the school to acheive their accomplishments. I sell real estate in the area and would tell anyone to send their children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I love sending my daughter to Rock Creek. I was hesitant because my daughter is a very sensitive child and I worried about the class size and now I see there was no need to worry. The teachers have been great at helping to bring her out of her shell and encourage her everyday to be the best she can be without changing who she is. The entire staff from the secretary to the lunch crew and all the way up to the Principal are wonderful people that I know have my child's best interest at heart. The entire staff including the Principal, all make that extra effort to know every child by name and to make them feel special. The education they receive there makes me feel good about the foundation my child will have to succeed in the future. Angela Shy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Rock Creek is a great elementary school. Lots of parental involvement. Orchestra is available for 4th & 5th grade. Academics are ok. If you are considering moving to this area the Fort Zumwalt district is OK and one of the better ones around here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

A wonderfull enviorment for higher learning and a active and involved staff for an area thats growing so fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

Couldn't be happier with Rock Creek! Very caring staff and faculty. They really reach out to include the parents in all aspects of our children's education. They work as an extension of the home and as a team with families to teach children. They are very concerned about the level of ability of the children in the community. The teachers are very well organized. I am so happy, and so are my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students62%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities23%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 17%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8970 Mexico Rd
O'fallon, MO 63366
Phone: (636) 978-1611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Kids Academy
O'Fallon, MO


Assumption School
O'Fallon, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT