Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 961 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

After strong academic progress in elementary school, my child made little progress in middle school. The main thing my child learned was to hate school, and hate learning. Focus is on behavioral control rather than interesting and challenging academics. Learning environment is reactive instead of pro-active. School is overcrowded, teachers are not supported, and good students struggle to learn in an atmosphere where they don't feel safe or supported. Extracurricular programs are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

I've been to this school firsthand and know that it is a pretty good school, the principles are really involved, and that the teachers are good (if sometimes a little..... annoying). I think the only thing really missing in this environment is 1. The teachers need to actually teach, not just give a packet or section of reading, tell us it's homework, and hope we catch on. 2. The teachers need to adapt better, more fun teaching styles. If we're all bored and falling asleep in class, we'll never learn anything. And 3. Teachers need to force more discipline onto the more... outrageous students. They back talk, they fight, and now, they're not scared of punishments anymore. The students need to learn respect. I can understand speaking in class, maybe even getting a little loud, but when the students start yelling, and the teacher can't even take control, or when a student will not listen after, maybe, 3 times that the teacher has tried, that's when punishments should be dealt out. The problem here isn't really all about the teachers, it's about the students too.


Posted April 26, 2010

Very poor academic climate. When my daughter asked to see the teacher for a few minutes after school or during a lunch hour to clarify her understanding of a math function, the teacher said she didn't do either. She was told to stay after school so a high school student could help her. When parents contact teachers regarding what they see on Parent's Portal, the teachers get upset with the student and say we shouldn't rely on that information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Very disappointed in many of the teaching staff at North Middle as well as the lack of communication by the principle when issues have risen regarding the teaching staff. My child does not feel at all appreciated by many of her 6th grade teachers. She works hard to get good grades and is many times snubbed by the teachers when she asks for help with homework that she doesn't understand. The biggest disappointment has been with the music and art teachers. WOW where did they find these teachers?!?!? If I had it to do again, I would not have purchased a home in this school district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Most teachers don't care. My child's class was told they were disappointments and would never amount to anything. Another teacher told me she didn't have time for her. Parent involvement stops after 5th grade. They don't want the parents around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

this school is the best school everybody has respect for each other. there are a couple of teachers who r way to strict but they are all the people who teach us. i say that they even let the kids have a some what recess. all in all i love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

The principles spend a lot of time talking about how wonderful their school is now. Not true. Adults at the school SAY they do not tolarate bullying and meaness but they do nothing in actuality. Most teachers are good teachers but the administration leaves this school with much to be desired. Also, the district is antiquated when it comes to teaching technology. No wonder students have low interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I'm still loving this school, the teachers and the adm staff. My experience is good and my son has no complaints about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

this school is absolutely awful. there are students who take drugs and give them to others, there is cheating, and violence. i can't even walk through the hallways without getting hurt by the 'jocks'
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

I luv this school soooo much i is fun and my fav classes r reading home ec social stydies and science.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

This is a great school, and the staff is excelent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

I am a NMS parent with two boys in 6th and 7th grade.We find that this school has numerous activities for the boys and a good staff. Set up well and uses all of its space accordingly. An old school principal and down home rules. The teachers are helpful and 'cool'. The orientation process is setup well. Painless. I like that it is an older school with heart and not a new stuffy unfamiliar giant school where kids can't find the lunch room! It was easy for a new sixth grader to get the hang of things and they have it set up so the new 6th graders have their own hall as well as 7th and 8th. So the big kids can't pick on the new small fries! We have 2 more going in the future. We have never had problems, and myself and my husband grew up there too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

I am an eighth grader at North Middle. I have ben at this school for three years and love it. The teachers are awesome and they really know how to reach you. I must be honest though, if you're child hangs out with the 'tough crowd', he or she is probably going to end up in a fight. Not that it's not safe at North, we just have some... let's say interesting students. I realize that my parents are supposed to be filling this out or whatever, but I think that you may respect it a little more from me, a veteran of this school. I love my school and my teachers, and if you're planning on moving into the district, I'm certain that you will also. There are some amazing counselours here, on call, ready to help us when needed.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities16%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities12%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch54%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 74%
Black 8% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Tim Jamieson
Fax number
  • (636) 281-0005

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Virgil St
O'fallon, MO 63366
Phone: (636) 281-2356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Assumption School
O'Fallon, MO




Boonslick School
St. Peters, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT