Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dardenne Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

My daughters attended this school for the past two years. The loved the teachers and did very well. The teachers/staff know the kids by name and are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I hate to say it but this school needs a new principle. Shes an older lady and does not discipline the students at all. One student hit another student and she sent the student back to class after talking to him for only 5 minutes. This school is out of control, they need a more discipline from the principle! They need suspension some type of discipline! The kindergarden classes are way overcrowded and are full day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2011

I have 2 children at Dardenne and they are both thriving! We love the teachers and the principal who have been very involved in every aspect of my kids' experience there. One child will be in an eMints classroom next year and the other is currently being tested for the JET program. I have heard that Dardenne was zoned so that the "trailer park kids" or kids from low income families would all go to this one school I don't know if that's true. I can't imagine that it is out there. Regardless, every child begins their educational experience as a blank slate --it is the responsibilty of the PARENT(S) to teach their children that education is important. You can make a great learning and growing experience for your children at (almost) any school. It's up to YOU.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

My kids have been in 3 others schools in the district and I have never seen such un controlled hallways, bathroom proceedures and behavior in general. While the teachers seem very nice the control and eduaction at this school was is horrible. NO COMPUTER teacher, no student control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Great place to live, good teachers that seem to care for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

This elementary school is excellent, my yougest child is there now in grade 3. They are the only elementary school in the district that offers E-Mints which is a terriffic program and lets kids learn while having fun. My son loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

My daughter has attended two different schools in the FZumwalt district. I can say that this school fails to measure up. I believe that part of the problem is the principal. They have some rough kids in this school and they need a strong authoritative presence. They do have some good teachers if you want to hand pick teachers every year. I am glad that this is our last year with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I love this school, my daughter goes to Dardenne, and she just loves it. She comes home happy. The teachers are great and the office staff is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

Dardenne is an amazing school with much to offer. The teachers are involved and caring. The principal is dedicated, fair, and supportive. Dardenne is the only school in the district to offer third, fourth, and fifth grade eMINTS classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

This school has come a long way! I am pleased with the education and support my children have received. I have watched it evolve into a much more welcoming and positive environment. It is evident by how my children and their peers respond. Dardenne teachers have received various awards and the children there have, through excellent instruction, boosted their scores on standardized testing. Parents are also important in the system and I have seen a lot more involvement and awards earned by the students. Second Grade kids earned the Exploravision national award and, locally, first and second place in 'Picture the Music' through Powell Symphony Hall. I believe in this school and current staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

I have had two different children try this school at different age levels and it is by far the worst school in the district. I have several friends and clients that have bought different houses when they found out that their children would have to go to this school. If you want your children to get a good education, do not send them here. In second grade they are still on 1+2. Look at the test scores, they are terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Overall I like the school. I think the school principle is great and so is the staff. My daughter is in the 5th grade and she loves it here. We moved from the Creve Couer area to O' Fallon, and I like Dardenne Elementary better than Bellerive Elementary. Less issues for my child here at this school and she has had perfect attendance since she has attended this school. She loves it and does not want to miss a day. I would like to see a program for children who have mastered basic skills to be placed into more advanced classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

I have 3 children at this school. The principle is excellent, her dedication and interest in each child shows! However, the school itself could use a good scrubbing and cleaning up. The age of the building is showing. There also seem to be a very high % of new teachers every year. Many seem to be first year teachers and I wonder if they come, get a couple of years experience and move on to a higher paying district. The school nurse is fabulous, and overall the staff seem to care very much for the kids. My children have recieved a quality education here, thanks to the dedication of the principle. While I do think it could use a couple of changes, they are minor and I feel comfortable with my children attending here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

We've had two children attend this school. We are exremely happy with the education the kids recieved. The experiences with the staff, teachers and administration has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White28%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White37%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students34%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White28%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Hispanic 9% 5%
Black 5% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Jill Hutcheson
Fax number
  • (636) 978-4012

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2621 Hwy K
O'fallon, MO 63368
Phone: (636) 978-4001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Boonslick School
St. Peters, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT