Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ft. Zumwalt West High School

Public | 9-12 | 2117 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2013

First off, I'm suprised that any of you actually attended West and are actually complaining. Wow. This school is absolutely AMAZING, try spending a week at No Hope High School or South. FZW is great place to learn and grow as a person. The community are a family. I recently moved my family to a small town in Southeast MO (job opportunity) and am KICKING myself every day of my life for pulling my 7 year old away. We're getting ready to move home to O'Fallon and my son is so happy to get to attend West one day. I'm honored that he's going to be a Jaguar. West Is Best!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This school has changed a lot in the last 10 years. Not all but a couple of principals are rude to staff, students and parents. Some teachers are awesome some do not use the curriculum assigned and just don't care. Superintendent has a very old school mind set.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I attended this school. There were girl on girl fights and guy on guy fights atleast once a week. The school is overpopulated. Students are allowed to text message in class and listen to their ipods. The students run the school, they know and so do the staff. I currently work in the school and the level of disrespect from kids to the teachers is absolutely horrid. Its more of a hang out, and their are too many students for the teachers to help, so they just send them to the special education dept.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2011

FZW was a Great Educational Experience for our two kids who are now doing well in college. Plenty of opportunities in AP Academics, College Prep Sports, and Music/Arts. Administration has managed the challenges with school growth and facilities are excellent., expecially with the recent expansion at West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

West is notorious for drug availability among students, focusing too much on the football program, football coaches who don't teach but only hand-out packets, fighting, racisim that leads to fighting and churning out students who can't make it at college. Only %46 of graduates make it to a 4-year university from West High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I attended this school 9th grade threw 11th grade and it was the worse school because of how crowded it was the student to teacher ratio, i left that building because of the lack of willing for teachers to help students to and because the staff was not helpful or understanding i attend Fort Zumwalt Hope High school now and love it here it is the best school i have ever attened by farr and you should see all the postive outcomes that come from hope high compared to west.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2009

I have been here the past two years, and has been able to get close to my teachers and my counslers. They are great
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

Not nearly as good nor equal opportunity for all students as Rockwood, or a school in Texas. Bascially, you have to be a 'genius' to take any advanced courses freshman year, because apperently, you won't make good grades if you're not. So glad I moved to Texas and had way better opportunites there. Take note of the LISD school district, it could help you out some. Oh, and Rockwood School District isn't half bad to take note of either. Either way, any rockwood school is better than a Zumwalt school, education opportunity wise. Also, they don't do perventage grades, and they don't offer as many AP courses as a top school should have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

Increadable! We have loved every minute that our son has attended FZW. He has found so many opportunities, stayed challenged, and enjoyed himself while keeping his parents happy too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Excellent college prep school. Outstanding extra-curricular activities. Not very diverse, but no school in O'Fallon is due to demographics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

West High is an excellent school. The teachers are great and care about their students and the principles and administration is wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

I'm a recent graduate from West. I loved it there, all four years. Many of the teachers are liked by the students. It's just an all around great school. Sports are big, although I never took part in any. West students also have a lot of school spirit. You wish you were a Jaguar!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

I have had 2 children go to West and until the last year I would have thought that it was a great school and I still think highly of counslers. It seems that the rest of the school has let football go to their heads at the expense of the rest of the student population. The school is too big and bullying is a hugh problem that is out of control. It is a shame that a once very good school is now just ok at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

This is a newer school with a great location and it's kept very clean. This school offers a great A+ program to attend a community college. A Tech School is also an option for juniors & senior's, this is paid for by the school district. A lot of extra curricular activities are offered. If your child needs help or there grades start falling the school has many options so that your child will succeed. A few draw backs would be over crowding in the halls for passing period, lunch and lockers. The school should have been built a little bigger with wider hallways & no trailer classes. Hopefully with the new school boundaries & the new East High School opening in 2007-08 this will greatly improve our school district as a whole. Finally more school lot parking would have been great for students that work or participate in extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

The programs here are great. The Choir Program is AMAZING! I love Mrs. Fritz...not only does she teach but she also gets down to our level and is willing to listen where many adults won't. The Drama program is to die for. Our sports are really good and our football team will make you scream 'GO JAGS!' Our scolar bowl team has won the past 2 years and are currently going for 3 year win!...all that i have to say about this school is that all we have to worry about is if we get back from school. Oo, Ah, You wish you were a Jaguar!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2006

All the teachers I have talked with are energetic and care about my child. This building is a great asset to the community. I am so glad my kids go to West High.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

508 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

448 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

549 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

498 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

465 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students44%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilities16%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunch80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students84%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial81%
American Indiann/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunch74%
Students with disabilities38%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students71%
Black48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students86%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial94%
American Indiann/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunch76%
Students with disabilities37%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students70%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial64%
American Indiann/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch57%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students83%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial79%
American Indiann/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunch69%
Students with disabilities41%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students50%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 74%
Black 5% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1251 Turtle Creek Dr
O'fallon, MO 63366
Phone: (636) 379-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Boonslick School
St. Peters, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT