Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ft. Zumwalt West High School 4

Posted November 08, 2014
- a student
West is Best! You can basically do whatever you want there. Teachers are chill and easy to get along with. Students have huge amounts of freedom as they are seen in the halls during class and socializing with other teachers in their rooms during class time. The teachers don't tattle on everything they see and most allow cell phones out during class. The stereotypical cliques are all around. West has the popular, attractive kids vs. the losers but their paths rarely cross which results in few fights. The food SUCKS though. Students haven't been buying food during the 2014-15 year due to drastic health restrictions. West also is home to many kids who are popular online. From Jarnie to Soloman, West has a large social voice online. They are also home to Seth Dusky, a transfer from California, who appeared in Big Time Rush and Mars Needs Moms. Overall, West is a great school with many social opportunities and educational strengths. The varsity football team is over- emphasised, but hey West is always best.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
First off, I'm suprised that any of you actually attended West and are actually complaining. Wow. This school is absolutely AMAZING, try spending a week at No Hope High School or South. FZW is great place to learn and grow as a person. The community are a family. I recently moved my family to a small town in Southeast MO (job opportunity) and am KICKING myself every day of my life for pulling my 7 year old away. We're getting ready to move home to O'Fallon and my son is so happy to get to attend West one day. I'm honored that he's going to be a Jaguar. West Is Best!!!!


Ft. Zumwalt West High School 2

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
This school has changed a lot in the last 10 years. Not all but a couple of principals are rude to staff, students and parents. Some teachers are awesome some do not use the curriculum assigned and just don't care. Superintendent has a very old school mind set.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 1

Posted November 15, 2011
- a teacher
I attended this school. There were girl on girl fights and guy on guy fights atleast once a week. The school is overpopulated. Students are allowed to text message in class and listen to their ipods. The students run the school, they know and so do the staff. I currently work in the school and the level of disrespect from kids to the teachers is absolutely horrid. Its more of a hang out, and their are too many students for the teachers to help, so they just send them to the special education dept.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 4

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
FZW was a Great Educational Experience for our two kids who are now doing well in college. Plenty of opportunities in AP Academics, College Prep Sports, and Music/Arts. Administration has managed the challenges with school growth and facilities are excellent., expecially with the recent expansion at West.


Ft. Zumwalt West High School 1

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
West is notorious for drug availability among students, focusing too much on the football program, football coaches who don't teach but only hand-out packets, fighting, racisim that leads to fighting and churning out students who can't make it at college. Only %46 of graduates make it to a 4-year university from West High School.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 1

Posted April 14, 2011
- a student
I attended this school 9th grade threw 11th grade and it was the worse school because of how crowded it was the student to teacher ratio, i left that building because of the lack of willing for teachers to help students to and because the staff was not helpful or understanding i attend Fort Zumwalt Hope High school now and love it here it is the best school i have ever attened by farr and you should see all the postive outcomes that come from hope high compared to west.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ft. Zumwalt West High School 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ft. Zumwalt West High School 5

Posted June 26, 2009
- a student
I have been here the past two years, and has been able to get close to my teachers and my counslers. They are great

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ft. Zumwalt West High School
1251 Turtle Creek Dr, O'fallon, MO  63366
(636) 379-0300
Last modified Ft. Zumwalt West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ft. Zumwalt West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top