Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
60 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
Mr. McSwain and Mrs. Benton were literally a Godsend for us throughout our daughters' education. They are the best teachers ever!

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
I believe that when my girls went on to high school they were definitely above the average Freshman academic levels. And they had good values to carry them through.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
I never remember having too much as a child and I certainly don't think my girls had too much. They need to be prepared for high school and the teachers help with that.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
I believe that the kids strive to be good in all they do. From the sports to the choir and the academics the focus is on doing their best.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
When those teachers speak the students listen that's for sure! I believe strong character in the teachers definitely helps control the kids when anyone acts out.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
Whenever there were problems between students they sit them down and work together to bring resolution in a Christian way.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
They instill a strong Christian education built on values and character. The teachers really care and love the kids.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
I just love Our Redeemer. I was baptized, confirmed, and married at this church. I went to this school from preschool through 8th grade. My daughters were baptized here, and have been attending since preschool. They are now in 2nd and 4th grades. I had the same preschool and eighth grade teachers they have now, which gives you an idea of the loyalty and love these teachers have for our children. I truly believe that this is the absolute best school for my children to have the highest level of education while learning the best Christian values. It is so clear that these teachers love the kids. I believe they teach using positive reinforcement instead of harsh discipline, unless absolutely necessary. My girls love the teachers they have had. I believe Our Redeemer is producing highly intelligent, compassionate, and well-rounded young adults with great Christian values. We wouldn't send our girls anywhere else. God Bless You,


Our Redeemer Lutheran School 1

Posted February 09, 2013
- a community member
As a former student I would not send my children to this school. If you are not a wealthy family who is capable of contributing to the school don't expect much. My family was not as well off as others and my school life was miserable. I hated classes,I hated my teachers and going to church and after school activities were the same they did not harbor a Christian attitude to everyone it was better than my option of Normandy but I could have done so much more if teachers believed in me and helped me. My confidence was shattered every year by a teacher who would make fun of the way you did or didn't do something. All in all if you want your child to learn a true Christian attitude choose a different Christian school.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
I do not think chastising the student that had traded with another to do the free will offering was necessary. Children's feelings are valuable. She praised the one who had done track but chastised another in front of the whole audience. Maybe she thought it was cute but the child and her parents mostly likely did not. I do not believe it creates a Christian atmosphere and my cause a decline in enrollment. Lastly the students put a lot of time to perform why do they have so much homework on a night when they are expected to be at school?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
9135 Shelley Avenue, Overland, MO  63114
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (314) 427-3444
Last modified Our Redeemer Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top