Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Graden Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

The support team that my child works with at Graden are amazing! From the very start of school, his classroom teacher and SLP identified an areas of concern and started to help him right away with an RTI. We went through a full diagnosis with a local children's hospital and have since had an IEP in place. His "team" includes his special ed teacher, SLP and OT, plus his classroom teacher, specials teachers, etc. They work seamlessly with each other to find new ways to help him to reach his potential. The growth in his achievement, self-confidence and love of learning has been dramatic, thanks to the caring instruction at Graden. The school environment is so supportive, he has never been treated like he is "different" , even though he does have accommodations that other kids do not need. The school provides technology support as well as instructional support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

The entire faculty at Graden Elementary is amazing. My son started Kindergarten this year and was recently diagnosed with ADHD and it took some time to get him proper treatment. With his behavior in that time, most schools would have expelled him. They had patience and implemented special curriculum and goals systems to allow him to develop. These teachers are truly special and deserve the highest awards for their efforts to help shape all of the children into productive, intelligent, articulate and polite members of society. The equal treatment of my child even with his challenging behavior has been worth more than words can say. They appreciate my involvement and work with me to make our son an amazing person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

We recently moved to MO and placed two of our boys at Graden. Having had them in private school previously, we were entering a new experience, which has been nothing but positive. The teachers are great, the staff is very engaged, and there are great opportunities for involvement. The boys love their classes and have quickly made friends. One of the most positive aspects, is the focus on developing character in the children through teaching and mentoring opportunities. It's great to hear my boys quoting the "7 Habits of a Good Hornet!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

We LOVE Graden! Our daughter is in K and she has done nothing but excel. We get DAILY emails from her teacher informing us of the days learning activites. They have wonderful parent involvement. I can't say enough about this school. Dr. Halverstadt the pricipal is fantastic as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I've had three boys go all the way through this school. The principal is fantastic! Every single teacher we had was at least "VERY GOOD". The boys liked their teachers; the PTA was active; parents were involved. There were lots of ways to become engaged at the school. WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

My son is in kindergarten here and also has an IEP, his teachers have been great and attentive. I feel like everyone is truly invested in the kids here and they hold their teachers to very high standards. The location is also very desirable and I think Parkville was recently voted the safest town in Missouri.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My twin boys attend kindergarten at this school and I couldn't be happier. Their teachers are attentive, caring and great at teaching all kinds of students. The principal seems to know every child in the school by name, including my two kindergarteners!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

A couple of years ago, our Son attended Graden. This was definitely a bad experience for him and myself. His teacher was 'okay' but took points off for silly things ... that made no sense. It was very difficult to become involved, as well. I'm thankful that we were able to move away to another state. My Son is now loving school again and I'm the President of the PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

My daughter has gone through K-5th grade at Graden. The teachers are fantastic and teach with compassion and enthusiasm. We remain in this school district because of the acadmic levels of this school. Graden thrives on parent involovment which is critical to all schools. The school is very much family based and encourages on all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Having experienced elementary schools in two other states, I can confidently say that Graden does not meet my expectations. They're good, but not great. Their stated FTE-to-Student ratios are inaccurate as my daughter is in a class of 23. Their technology reach is from the dark ages. And our particular teacher is by-the-book and lacks innovation or creativity. All that said, they're OK but not great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

This school has terrific teachers, and top notch education! MAP and Stanford tests confirm this, too. Parent participation needs to be welcomed at the school by the administrators; not just encouraged for after school and special events. Unitl 2 years ago this school had the nicest students around. Unfortunately, there has been a steady decline in the way the students are treating each other. Previously, students were taught in Kindergarden that any type of name calling or even marginal language were not acceptable. This past year I personally heard several of these young students being abusive to their peers. We need to bring the behavior and morale back to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students68%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students81%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students81%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students86%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 74%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Black 5% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8804 Hwy 45 NW
Parkville, MO 64152
Phone: (816) 359-4340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Martin Luther Academy
Kansas City, MO


Parkway Montessori
Kansas City, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT