Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Raymore Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

Just finished with my parent teacher conference and couldn't be happier! The principal and couple of teachers greeted me with smiles as soon as I walked in. My child's teacher knows exactly what his progress is and told me her plan to push him....not just teach to the low or the average which is refreshing! Great leadership from the principal & great teachers here who really care and work hard to make learning fun. Several even got promotions this year! I would like to see the school increase security-maybe some bullet-proof glass or a buzz-in system. Can't be too careful with everything going on but all in all I feel like my child is safe and we are very happy at Raymore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

This was our sons experience: Uninspired teacher. Lack of adequate physical activity. Principle focused only on test results. Our son has flourished since we moved and is now in advanced classes. Raymore Elementary was not a good fit for our him. The main reason we moved was to get away from that school and the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

This is an amazing school! The principal is truly the most dedicated individual and the teachers are wonderful! The school has very high results in test scores but they value our children as individuals. There are some tough kids and yet they are patient and always make sure our own students feel safe. There are so many ways for us to be involved from helping with projects like their weekend food program for hungry kids or dads who serve as WatchDOGS. Raymore is a great community and school, and we feel so fortunate to be part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

My son has been in Raymore Elementary since K-2. It has been nothing but bad experiences, which started in Kindergarten, and has continued. The school wants to put children in special education classes; instead of, working with the student. My child has been picked on, called names, and treated unfairly. Nothing every seems to be accomplished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

We moved to Raymore for the schools and I could not be more disappointed. They have treated my son horribly. At this point I'm paying for a private school until we're able to move. Now that my son is at a school that cares about him, he's excelling,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

My son attended Raymore Elem. from K-2. I believe he received an excellent education. The new principal is very involved, smart, and genuinely cares about the students, parents, and success of the schools. Several of the teachers are awesome--educated, caring, and involved. A number of opportunities were available for parental involvement. My son had a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

they have really caring teachers who take time to see that the kids are educated and loved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

I am a former educator myself and find this school to be top notch. I spend a lot of time volunteering and substitute teaching at this school. The staff is excellent! The expectations for behavior and academics are clear and consistent. When we first moved to Raymore I was disappointed our kids would not be going to one of the newer schools. I could not have been more wrong. I am so happy we ended up in this school's boundaries!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

My daughter loves this school. The field trips a re paid for by the PTA. The Staff is top notch and though it is one of the older schools in the district they have recently done some renovations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

My son has been at Raymore Elementary for two years, we have had great luck with his teachers so far. There was a lot of teachers that left the school last summer, and I can't help but wonder why? My son loves all the special programs like computer class and art. Overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I feel this school does not have a good music program. There are no Talent Shows, no music programs for EACH grade and no plays. I think these programs would benefit the students and boost their creativity. I think parents would enjoy seeing their children perform,too. Several other Ray-Pec schools offer musical programs, why not Raymore Elementary? I think parents are not involved enough at the school. I think they close their eyes, drop their kids off and let the school run itself. I do not understand why parents do not spend more time at the school to see what is going on inside the classrooms. We all work. We can give our school and kids more time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students62%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Black 11% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Michelle Hofmann
Fax number
  • (816) 892-1926

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 South Madison
Raymore, MO 64083
Phone: (816) 892-1925

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT