Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonegate Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 348 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2008

My child has been at Stonegate for 2 years and I absolutely love it. The teachers and staff are friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The PTA is fantastic and strives to have a lot of events for the students. The PTA seems to work closely with the school to ensure Stonegate is the best school in the city. Lots of fun events - I can't wait to see what they do this upcoming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Love the school, love the staff. I am not able to be as involved as I would like, with another little one at home, but this is my child's 3rd year and we have nothing but positives experiences. My child is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

The staff and administration clearly do not want the parents involvement. I have yet to see the principal or teachers protect the children in different situations. I feel their main concern is money and MAP test scores and not the children and their safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

I am very pleased with Stonegate Elementary! My child attended all 5 years there and each year was a great success! I found the three principals that I interacted with to be very professional. I have never experienced a single teacher that has placed their interest before that of the students'. This is a very positive learning environment and the students are happy and learning! I have had an opportunity to be in other schools in this district and feel Stonegate certainly gets a 5 star rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This is our first year at Stonegate and I have found the teachers, principal and staff to be very helpful and accessible. I believe that parents can be as involved as they choose. There are many areas within the school and PTA in which a parent can volunteer as much or little of their time as they wish. I would highly recommend Stonegate to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Stonegate is a very welcoming school with top rate teachers, great support staff, an active PTA and an administrator who really cares. I have had a child at Stonegate for the last six years and would not have them attend any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

I believe my children thrive at Stonegate. Having one move on to the upper elementary and one still at Stonegate I have had very few problems. Teachers and Staff are always friendly and helpful. My child returns home excited about school and we as parents have enjoyed all the teachers our children have had. Parent links and school news are available and very informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

The school has a nice facility. The faculty leaves someting to be desired. Always getting the runaround about what is going on and very poor communication between teachers and upper managment. With the right staff in place this could be a very good school but the first thing that need to go is the principal I was told that this is one of the best schools in the state but we have yet to see any of that. It seems that more time is spent on their own personal interest rather than the students that attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 74%
Black 8% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 South Foxridge Dr
Raymore, MO 64083
Phone: (816) 892-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT