Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Loved Laurel Hills. My son attended from second grade to fifth grade. Made it a point to be an active parent. I asked lots of questions and got lots of positive feedback and direction from the teachers. My sons grades went up every year and teachers had no problem with calling or emailing me if there were concerns. I couldn't ask for better school or a better group of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

My oldest son started Kindergarten at Laurel Hills last year, and is now in first grade. I have 3 other boys who will be attending Laurel Hills as well. We couldn't be happier with the education our son is currently receiving. They have an excellent security system, the teachers are fantastic, and there are lots of fun family activities throughout the school year. I am surprised to see some of the negative comments below. For those who are deciding on which school to send their child/children, remember this: Most of the time, people only leave feedback if they have something bad to say. That is something I have come to learn when reading reviews. Go to the school and check it out for yourself before making a decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

As a Grandparent with an educational background, there are some areas for improvement in teaching skills. When visiting the school, I am pleased with the security system they have in place. The staff are not as outgoing as I would like them to be to parents, grandparents, and students. I am becoming more familiar with the administration and the district's policies regarding visitors in the school. The PTA is very active and lacks the volunteers to help with several yearly planned activities, Their fund raisers have benefited the school greatly, and I would like to see the doors opened to not only parent volunteers in the classrooms, but also the grandparents. All schools need improvement along with the districts that they are under. I enjoy Laurel Hills and my grandchildren are learning and growing daily. It must be remembered also that test scores do not define a school.


Posted October 17, 2007

My daughter attends the school currently. The quality of the education at this school is insufficient. My daughter has attended the school since kindergarten, I have taught her at home every year, because she is not challenged at all at this school. I would not recommend this school to anyone. My daughter will be changing schools next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My son (who is now in 10th grade) attended Laurel Hills and it totally changed his life. He only went there for 4th and 5th grade. He entered as a child who didn't like school and left as a child who loved school, finally realizing how important it is. My daughter attended K and is now in 1st grade there. I couldn't be more impressed with everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

My daughter is about to leave elementary and embark on her middle school years. I think the teachers and staff at Laurel Hills have more than prepared her in both academics and social skills. It is a great school with caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

The Raytown schools have done an excellent job with all 4 of my childeren. The teachers are very caring and it is obvious the district hires the best. Their advanced classes are run in a proffesional mannor with the childeren allowed to learn at an excellerated rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Great school. Teachers care about parents and students. Both teachers called me to let me know how my boys were doing in class during the first week.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students38%
Black23%
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Black36%
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Black37%
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students65%
Black51%
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students37%
Black20%
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 74%
Black 39% 17%
Hispanic 16% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl Bland
Fax number
  • (816) 268-7235

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5401 Ln
Raytown, MO 64133
Phone: (816) 268-7230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Northwood School
Kansas City, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT