Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 628 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, November 23, 2014

Raytown South Middle School is awesome. Not perfect, but still a great school. My child is involved in accelerated classes, jazz band, and sports. He will leave middle school with high school credits already in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This school is pretty cool. The teachers are pretty nice here!! The lockers are great here..bring your child here now


Posted January 7, 2014

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE. The administration is horrible, the principles are more about their own appearance, and the most of the teaching staff are just their to make themselves feel intelligent. I have sent two of my 3 children here, Fortunately I was smart enough to pull my second one out and will NOT be sending my 3rd. There are a few selective good teachers, but they are sadly outweighed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

my child is in the seventh grade and is a.straight A student at RSMS, and ive always been concerned with the lack of emphasis some parents put on education at our school.To the parents who dont know fights are prevelent at school. If we as parents dont bond together soon running to the high school wont help we will be running to another district. Its a shame the changes Ive seen in Raytown schools in such a short time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Run as fast as you can from this school. Terrible communication and rampant apathy from the administration! Very few of the staff seem to care about the job they have. It is too bad but I cannot wait until my children are out of this school! The Principal does not follow through and apathy seems to be acceptable for this middle school. All of this filters down to the staff and students. FIND ANOTHER SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

I have been very impressed with the quality of education that this school offers. I have also been extremely pleased with the care and concern of the teachers here. I believe the principal has high expectations and holds the students accountable for behavior and academic progress. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

I am a former student. My time at Raytown South I was not the best. The teachers focus more on discipline than teaching the curriculum. The students in the classes distract committed students and they disrespect the teachers. Fights are in style now and they pollute the learning enviornment in my opinion. I am a freshman at Rockhurst High School and I must say it was the best transition of my life. I suggest to parents a catholic education if your child is committed to learning. However,Raytown South is not a good learning enviornment.


Posted June 22, 2010

This school is all about fights i have heard of sooooo many fights its not funny my child is attendin that school and she has came home saying the same thing "there was a fight today it wasss soooo funny" i dont want my child in this kind of enviroment. cant wait to get her out of there and into raytown high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The problems I have with RSMS isn't the teachers so much as it is the Principals. They say they are always available to talk with parents but whenever I've called I always hear the same thing. . . .'Leave a message and they'll get back with you.' That never happens! I have 2 children in that school this year. One is struggling, but not because of any teachers fault. The other is doing well. I just think if they say they're going to do something or have something available, then they should follow through. Too many things that have been discussed over the last 3 years have not been done. The kids are losing out on a wonderful middle school experience because the Principals of the school aren't doing their part. They are leaving it up to the teachers and other staff to run the school instead of doing it themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Not impressed with this school in the last couple years. It's really gone down hill since my first child went through there 5 years ago. Alot of labeling of kids from teachers & principal. Can't wait to get my kids out of there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My son has attended this school since 6th grade and he is in his last year. I've not had any problems with South Middle; the teachers care very much and as far as I know there hasn't been any fights or horrible misconducts from the students. The teachers are organize and my son enjoys it there. I like that it's diversity and would rather send him here than any schools from the KC district. I hope that KC district will get it together. They are only hurting the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

196 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

196 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

196 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students21%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White33%
Free or reduced-price lunch14%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students24%
Black19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White38%
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students32%
Black28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Black34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students26%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilities3%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students21%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White32%
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilities9%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students34%
Black21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilities9%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunch77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 17%
White 28% 74%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8401 East 83rd St
Raytown, MO 64138
Phone: (816) 268-7380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT