Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Raytown Sr. High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2011

I went to RHS from 2005-2009. Many from my graduating class say this school has gone downhill immensely. For the most part, the teachers do want their students to succeed. However, many of the students just choose not to do their work. A lot of students that go to RHS come from problematic families and just don't want to attend school. There are a lot of comments saying the school is very diverse. Here are the 2010 racial demographics of RHS: White: 44%, Black: 46%, Hispanic: 7%, Asian: 2%, American Indian: 1%. So the school is predominantly white and black. I'm sorry, but this is not "diverse". If the school were truly diverse every race listed would be at 25%. I'm pretty sure these comments saying this school is diverse are just politically correct commentators pointing out the steady rise in African American students coming to the school. One thing I dislike about RHS is the fact they baby-sit their students rather treating them like the young adults they are. We had something implemented in 2007 called "Hall freezes", where students remaining in the hallways after passing period was over would get a detention. This is something I would expect to be in a middle school not RHS.


Posted April 5, 2011

Rating something such as a school is very subjective. It is unfair to judge a school such as Raytown High with schools that have nearly unlimited resources and parental support. "The greatest generation" populated Raytown in part to live in a community that they considered affordable, safe, and that offered high quality schools. That's the Raytown High I graduated from in 1972 (5 stars then). I see comments here about diversity and a nurturing atmosphere. Diversity is desirable and so is a nurturing atmosphere, but the real question is what are you able to accomplish educating kids with the talent, resources, and support you have available. Raytown schools are better than outsiders think but not as good as locals like to believe. Raytown's test scores seem to indicate that the district is struggling to deliver educational excellence in a community that has aged and come upon a difficult economic time. I encourage the school and community leadership to partner together to focus upon offering the patrons and students of the district a safe, high quality education. Figure out a way to dramatically improve test scores from where they are today in 2011. KIDS MATTER! TEST SCORES MATTER!


Posted January 3, 2011

this web site is not working right, just like good old Rattown Higgggggh, and the saditic coaches who not only abused me physically but did everything they could to humiliate me. The administration ignored my complaints to the point that I quit going to P.E His name was Coach Chttwood. Now they have named the stadium after the most sadistic and crulest man I have ever known. I soit on his grave.


Posted September 25, 2009

RHS is very diverse, we like that. Every student has a chance, if they take advantage, to get a good high school education. We think as good as any in the state of Missouri.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

THey have a great program for help learning disablity, great sports program that they balance with a strong academic program. They have some amazing kids doing great thngs and the accomplishments in academics make them and area leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Raytown High School serves a diverse population and offers great options for students who plan to enter either college or a career. We have great students who excel academically, athletically, and in the arts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Our school is incredibly diverse but such a friendly atmosphere!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2009

Raytown students are some of the finest around the town and the teachers are willing to go the extra mile to benefit a student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2009

I love the diversity of the students and the support that the students and the parents receive from the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Raytown High School has an excellent and caring staff that encourages the students to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Raytown High School is showing my daughter the educational tools that she will need and show her the many different types of personalities that she will be dealing with after high school. This is all part of growing up; success with your peers and mentors, resolving problems by identifying them and working a solution, the meannig of personal goals and respect of others and their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I have been teaching at RHS for several years. I feel that RHS is one of the best secrets in the KC area. I have taught in other larger and 'richer' districts in the area, and I find this school's staff and students to be much more well-rounded than other schools. At RHS income level is not an issue, nor is what the student wears or drives. The students work together, cliques are not controlling the environment, and all students have opportunity to get involved. As a teacher, I have been supported more at RHS with regards to academics, discipline, etc. than in other schools. RHS may not have all the perks of other larger schools, but your child will get the support that is needed to succeed...and they won't be lost in the crowd. Promotion without learning (in another comment) is an individual teacher, not building, issue.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2007

This school is one that needs better leadership and more discipline. My child is leaving because of this.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

As with all schools now a days, Raytown has gone the way of No Child Left Behind. To do this, they promote regardless if you know anything or not. This, added with their total lack of leadership, I have pulled my children, and my wife and I have opted to have her home school them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
36%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
48%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

621 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students34%
Black28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students38%
Black26%
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students75%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Free or reduced-price lunch73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students58%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students68%
Black54%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students47%
Black32%
Hispanic43%
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students35%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students51%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities37%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 17%
White 42% 74%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6019 Blue Ridge Blvd
Raytown, MO 64133
Phone: (816) 268-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northwood School
Kansas City, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT