Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Valley Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
good school for the most part, this was my daughters first year in school thanks. my daugher will be in 1st grade and looking very foward to it

Spring Valley Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My Daughter Peyton, had Ms Tuili for Kindergarten, Ms Tuili was very patient and kind with Peytong, who can at times be a handful, Peyton learned so many wonderful things in her class, Ms Tuili is a wonderful teacher Sincerely Ms Barnes


Spring Valley Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Linley is a great teacher. She encourages her students to excellence. offers the tools and supports to help her student reach higher. She communicates well with parents and students. My daughter loves her!

Spring Valley Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Very diverse school that values fairness and equal opportunity for all students. The teachers are honest and display integrity.

Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Great learning environment, supportive teachers and staff. My daughter loves her 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Linley. She is awesome!


Spring Valley Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
It's such a shame. High turn over of staff. Lowest test scores. Too many parents that are uninvolved or just struggling to make ends meet. Some students that are either discipline problems or don't get the attention they need and deserve. Then the parents who were able to flee with their children did just that. Ever since students were absorbed (from the unaccredited neighboring Kansas City school district) back in 2012, there's been a sharp decline in the "quality" of Raytown schools.

Spring Valley Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is great, that continues to improve. The teachers are dedicated and truly care about the students. It shows through that they desire to help students excel both in and outside of the classroom. Mrs. Converse in particular is a breath of fresh air. She motivates her students to accomplish great things!

Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
I ABSOLUTLY LOVE THIS SCHOOL !!!! I wish that my baby girl could go back i hate that she has to switch school districts, its sooo not fair at all. The Staff is great the Pricipal is wonderful even the parents are very involved with everything... it just breaks her lil heart that she cant go there for 1st grade... EVERYTHING WAS Great there i would recommand parents to send there their children there if they live in Raytown ...Imma sure miss this school even the music and art teacher were just amazing people... One of the best I've seen


Spring Valley Elementary School 3

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
All my children went to this school. There have been many changes from staff to principals changing every one and half to every two years. It needs to become more stable for the district to leave teachers alone and stop moving them. Teachers have gotten frustated and moved on also. I was involved in the PTA for almost thirteen years there. It became very tiring not to have other parents get involved. If PTA seemed pushy it was because they needed help and were only trying to get parents involved in planning activities at their child school. What was once an above average has become an average school because of all the changes.

Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
All three of my kids have/are going here and I have always loved it. The teachers have been very caring and kind people, the education was quality and the office staff are all wonderful. The pushiness and righteousness of some PTA moms may be what scares away more parental involvement with the PTA but otherwise everything alse about the school is great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spring Valley Elementary School
8838 East 83rd St, Raytown, MO  64138
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (816) 268-7270
Last modified Spring Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top