Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bissett Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 273 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

I have seen some good changes at this school this year Bissett is working hard on giving the students a better school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

My son had a fantastic teacher (Mrs. Cincotta) for 5th grade. There was great communication between her and me. I felt comfortable and supported at all times for any of my concerns. He was in the Math Competition and the other teachers do a great job to support the kids. My son loved his Music teacher too and felt he learned so much. I continued to see my son excited about school and his teachers plus his principal. We are sad to leave this school. Yes, I did volunteer to help support this great school and those in it who go beyond their job descriptions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

This is one of the worst schools our son has ever attended. His teacher (Jill Cook - 4th grade) has gone out of her way to alienate him, but she refuses to communicate with us about her behavior. The principal (Marcie Stallcup) is endorsing a "fund raising" program that takes money away from the school and gives most of to a chain pizza-store that is heavy into supporting private Christian education. I've tried to help with school projects, but my requests are rejected. We can't wait until our son is old enough to get away from this stifling institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

I have 2 children that attend this school, the teachers are great and my children love going to school everyday, I find the teachers care about my children's education at this school. I am very pleased with Bissett Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2003

This school is stuggling to overcome many problems that plague the Springfield School system. The main one being lack of parents that take an interest in their childrens learning process. Students are challenged to study and perform well. If the parent feels that their child is so advanced (what parent doesn't)they should talk with the principal and teacher to plan a more challenging program. It has worked for me and several of the foster children that have come through our home. Some who are advanced and some who are behind but all have benefited from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have 3 gifted children at this school that love attending. They also attend the gifted program offered by Springfield Public schools WINGS on Thursdays. The faculty truely cares about the students and the PTA is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This year I believe we have all wonderful teachers at Bissett. My parent involvement has made a difference with me getting to know the principal and the teachers. I look forward to a wonderful year. Sometimes I believe that Bissett can be to strict if anything. This is the only negative comment I have. I know you have to have rules but we need to remember these are children also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2003

This school does not offer programs for children whose academic performance is consistently well above average. There are no tutors to enable and challenge academically gifted children. My child is bored, academically unchallenged and continues to review the same materials day after day due to the majority student population performing well below average. I am currently searching for an alternative option for my child's education. On a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest, I rate this school as a 0.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students18%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White23%
Free or reduced-price lunch14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students28%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 75%
Hispanic 18% 5%
Black 14% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Marcie Stallcup
Fax number
  • (417) 523-2895

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3014 West Calhoun
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: (417) 523-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

York Elementary School
Springfield, MO






Weaver Elementary School
Springfield, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT