Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Springfield, MO
Students enrolled: 1,681
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central High School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
We love Central! Wouldn't go anywhere else in Springfield. Very liberal school, which is a great fit for me and my family.

Central High School 2

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
The level of education at Central seems great at first. They have the IB program and are highly ranked nationally. The problem is that they spend too much time focusing on acceptance of liberal, worldly ideals. We are not a crazy right wing family but my son hated the widespread promotion of homosexuality. When studying history with him, the books had obvious bias against US history, focusing more on the negative and less on the contributions of our great Nation. He had a couple of great teachers, but the curriculum was extremely liberal. His conservative Christian views were attacked by students, and not supported at all by teachers. My son transferred to Kickapoo, all honors classes, seems to be learning just as much, and is much much happier.


Central High School 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a community member
Qualified students have the option to participate in the International Baccalaureate program, a rigorous college-prep curriculum. Many of the fine arts programs have won national awards, and some of the sports teams are good (not football though, at least not for the past ten years). There is also a full-time gifted program for middle school students that gives them the opportunity to take high school classes and advanced middle school classes. There is a good program for students with English as a second language. There is a wide variety of extra-curricular activities. Check out the school's website for more information about all of the great opportunities! -2009 Alumna

Central High School 3

Posted September 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a student
This school is one of the greatist schools I've ever attended! Central provides gifted programs, such as AP, IB, and MYSP. It also has a diverse student body and provides a program for English learners. Sarah S. CHS graduate


Central High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Having had two children at Central, one in the IB who graduated and one in the MYSP, who finished 6th and 7th grade, I cannot say enough about the wonderful academic environment. We moved to a different state and had to pull out our second child. The new school does not compare to Central in any way. If our children had the choice they would go back to Central in a heart beat!

Central High School 5

Posted August 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central High School 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a student
MYSP is an absolutely excellent program, along with IB. The teachers are extremely understanding. They also help with extra-curricular activities. The bi-weekly show CI (Central Intelligence), which is put together by the Media II students, is amazing. They have won numerous awards. I would definitely recommend this school!!!


Central High School 5

Posted June 29, 2008
- a student
I will be a junior at Central High School in the fall. For parents who are considering sending their children to Central, I cannot recommend it enough. Out of all the high schools in Springfield, Missouri, Central equips its students for college the best. Boasting the only International Baccalaureate Programme in Springfield, along with Advanced Placement options. MYSP allows students to become prepared for high school better than any middle school option in Springfield, especially preparation for the I.B. program. In MYSP, the students write an involved research paper. This puts them at an advantage above other freshman - none of them have composed a research paper of this size. If your student decides not to take part in the I.B. program, his or her education will be just as wonderful. They will be surrounded by competent teachers that really care about their students and a great enviroment full of diversity.

Central High School 5

Posted January 25, 2008
- a student
I am a central student that has been put in the custedy of the state and central is the only high school that i want to go to. the school has so many different races that make it hard to not like some one of that race. Go Central Bulldogs!!!!!! I love you all!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central High School
423 East Central, Springfield, MO  65802
(417) 523-9600
Last modified Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top