Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central High School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
We love Central! Wouldn't go anywhere else in Springfield. Very liberal school, which is a great fit for me and my family.

Central High School 2

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
The level of education at Central seems great at first. They have the IB program and are highly ranked nationally. The problem is that they spend too much time focusing on acceptance of liberal, worldly ideals. We are not a crazy right wing family but my son hated the widespread promotion of homosexuality. When studying history with him, the books had obvious bias against US history, focusing more on the negative and less on the contributions of our great Nation. He had a couple of great teachers, but the curriculum was extremely liberal. His conservative Christian views were attacked by students, and not supported at all by teachers. My son transferred to Kickapoo, all honors classes, seems to be learning just as much, and is much much happier.


Central High School 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a community member
Qualified students have the option to participate in the International Baccalaureate program, a rigorous college-prep curriculum. Many of the fine arts programs have won national awards, and some of the sports teams are good (not football though, at least not for the past ten years). There is also a full-time gifted program for middle school students that gives them the opportunity to take high school classes and advanced middle school classes. There is a good program for students with English as a second language. There is a wide variety of extra-curricular activities. Check out the school's website for more information about all of the great opportunities! -2009 Alumna

Central High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a student
This school is one of the greatist schools I've ever attended! Central provides gifted programs, such as AP, IB, and MYSP. It also has a diverse student body and provides a program for English learners. Sarah S. CHS graduate

Central High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Having had two children at Central, one in the IB who graduated and one in the MYSP, who finished 6th and 7th grade, I cannot say enough about the wonderful academic environment. We moved to a different state and had to pull out our second child. The new school does not compare to Central in any way. If our children had the choice they would go back to Central in a heart beat!


Central High School 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a student
MYSP is an absolutely excellent program, along with IB. The teachers are extremely understanding. They also help with extra-curricular activities. The bi-weekly show CI (Central Intelligence), which is put together by the Media II students, is amazing. They have won numerous awards. I would definitely recommend this school!!!

Central High School 5

Posted June 29, 2008
- a student
I will be a junior at Central High School in the fall. For parents who are considering sending their children to Central, I cannot recommend it enough. Out of all the high schools in Springfield, Missouri, Central equips its students for college the best. Boasting the only International Baccalaureate Programme in Springfield, along with Advanced Placement options. MYSP allows students to become prepared for high school better than any middle school option in Springfield, especially preparation for the I.B. program. In MYSP, the students write an involved research paper. This puts them at an advantage above other freshman - none of them have composed a research paper of this size. If your student decides not to take part in the I.B. program, his or her education will be just as wonderful. They will be surrounded by competent teachers that really care about their students and a great enviroment full of diversity.

Central High School 5

Posted January 25, 2008
- a student
I am a central student that has been put in the custedy of the state and central is the only high school that i want to go to. the school has so many different races that make it hard to not like some one of that race. Go Central Bulldogs!!!!!! I love you all!!!!


Central High School 5

Posted July 01, 2007
- a student
Central High School is a great school. It has many extracurricular activities avaviable and is also home to the MYSP program. Plus the band teacher is the best! Central is the school you want your kids attending. I rate it 10+!

Central High School 5

Posted April 23, 2007
- a student
We love Central. I wouldn't choose anywhere else! It's wonderful!

Nearby schools

Central High School
423 East Central, Springfield, MO  65802
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (417) 523-9600
Last modified Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top