Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glendale High School 2

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
I'm a fairly oldmen (90)who lives in the retirement home near glendale. THE STUDENTS MAKES SOMUCH NOISE WHEN IM TRY*ING TO NAP. I hate how they ignore the elderly and only care about themselves. Ido like the pretty lasses but alas they are idiotstoo. oh wellglendale is a bad school

Glendale High School 4

Posted January 21, 2014
- a community member
Hello our names are Jeff and Becky ross we are from Kenton, Ohio. We would like to congraduate you on the hiring of Coach Mauk. You will soon find out what a great coach and person he is. I had the privilage of coaching for him and I will tell you your kids and fans are really going to enjoy the spread offense ran by him and his son. Buy season tickets now and be prepared to stand in line for hours at away games. Congrats again and you will really be glad you hired him, good luck to your team this year I for one will be watching your team


Glendale High School 5

Posted July 09, 2010
- a parent
Hands down the best school in this area of the state. Fantastic in every way with a very strong history of preparing students for great success. Some schools accept that high school is the end of the students education, but GHS is for those that go on to higher learning.

Glendale High School 2

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Teachers a very traditional:textbooks, worksheets and bubble tests. Building has had very little improvement since it opened in 1963. Class sizes for core classes are 30+. Administration are too eager to put students in ISS for minor offenses. Administrators don't want or care about parents opinion. Glendale or Kickapoo are in the in SPFD, but that is not saying much.

Glendale High School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
This is by far the best school in Southwest Missouri. Glendale has strong performers in core subjects, but also has great non-core classes and teachers that round out a great education opportunity. While it does have a mix of kids from all backgrounds, the opportunities are more like a private school. The only other option for a more rigorous academic chance is the IB program at Central. However, for those who want some latitude and the chance to excel in areas such as choir, art, journalism and orchestra--this is the place to send your kids. Also, the sports programs are leading toward competing with others in the state in soccer, football, volleyball and more. Give the sports a few years to develop and move away from the district's prior mandate of 'parity' (i.e. mediocrity or equality among the five high schools) and you'll see Glendale really move up and rank.


Glendale High School 4

Posted September 14, 2006
- a student
Glandale, overall, is a good school. Yes, there are some problems. The biggest problem with Glendale is its four block system which, although it has increased the graduation rate and is easier on the teachers, it holds the brighter students back a bit. One great thing about Glendale though, is that it's the only school in the area that offers five differant foreign languages. Also, the teachers keep more order and enforce discapline more in Glendale then any of the other HS in Springfield do. In terms of the arts, Glendale is one of the elite choir schools in Missouri and the surrounding states. Glendale Band, under the direction of Ed Frederickson, is also rapidly rebuilding to its former prominance as a premier band program after a few dismal years that are now long forgotten.

Glendale High School 2

Posted January 03, 2006
- a student
Some would state that this is the best school in the district, however this is not always the case. As a student at the school today, I have to say this is not a great high school. Yes, the sports are good, yet there are some MAJOR problems in the area security and Polices, The Admin. At the school is a new group, and some of their tactics are not so great. I feel that if you want to be challenged in the class room don't come to this school. I am in almost all AP classes, and have yet to be challenged in these classes. If you want a collage prep education go to Central's IB program, if you cant get in then pick GHS or KHS. They all have problems that need major policy change to fix, however this is a district wide problem. -Kelby D.

Glendale High School 3

Posted December 20, 2005
- a student
I am a recent GHS graduate. The administration is pathetic.Teachers overall aren't bad. Some are very good. Many of the policies have a point they attempt to address yet they seem to all fail miserably. Either chose this school or Kickapoo as they are the two best in SGF.


Glendale High School 4

Posted October 02, 2005
- a parent
this school has very good acedemic programs, and art is widlet available. there is also a lot of parental involvement.

Glendale High School 5

Posted September 06, 2005
- a student
Glendale has great teachers, great staff, and great students. I am currently a student there, and I have yet to meet one teacher I didn't like or didn't think was 100% involved in there students works. Glendale has great sports, a basketball team that went 23-5 last year and won the Blue And Gold Tournament, an awesome football team, and a great baseball team that went 8-1 in Ozark Conference play. Our swin team dominates all of SW Missouri and wins districts just about every single year. They also have had numerous state champions in swimming in the history of the team, including one this year. Glendale has won numerous state titles in other sports also including basketball, baseball, and golf. For info on the sports teams check out Falconslax.com which is the lacrosse website but has links to the other major sports also.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glendale High School
2727 South Ingram Mill, Springfield, MO  65804
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (417) 523-8900
Last modified Glendale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top