Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hickory Hills Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 455 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2013

For the most part, my kids have had good experiences here. However, I must say that when my normally conscientious daughter started slacking a bit in eighth grade, there was little support from the teachers. As a teacher, I know how important we think parental involvement is, however, when I asked for an update on my student only 3 out of 7 teachers responded, and only one of them was a core teacher. I hope to move before my next child is in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

My child has attended this school since the middle of 6th grade. The teachers are extreemly rude! Their lack of interest in teaching the subjects is going to leave these students struggling in HS! They give out papers to complete & tell them to figure it out by themselves & get mad if the children ask for help. I have a straight A student who has been on the honor roll every semester! We have been in sports now and found the coaches to be very lacking! They choose kids who have been in club sports and that is who they favor and coach. The rest are viewed as a distraction from the elite. The coaches are allowed to scream at the kids and belittle them in front of each other! It's crazy! We are leaving the school to go to a better school in a different district! This one is a pathetic school and the principal is no more than a "pretty face" at the school. He will tell you to your face what he feels you want to hear and then do nothing about the situation you've expressed concern in. Amazing!! The school video tapes the students, yet the parents are not allowed to see the videos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I like HH and my child likes it as well. I feel my child is valued by 95% of the staff and my communication and input is always welcomed. I respect the principal and have never felt that my child was less important than another! I recommend this school and have found that most of my child's teachers have been motivating, concerned and involved! LOVE the location and area as well...ALSO my child's bus driver is caring and concerned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

HHMS is one of the worse Middle Schools in Springfield If not the worse , The principal Should be fired he does NOTHING , He is more concerned in his appearance and rubbing shoulders with the rich parents , Then the kids or there education , If your child plays sports DO NOT send them to HH , Both PE teachers , Cooper and Castillo are Coaches And what a joke either one couldnt coach a flea , Most of the teachers are there to collect a paycheck PERIOD , IT should give you a glue when they can not keep a asst principal more then one year , That is a HUGE red flag right there , My oldest went to HHMS my youngest will not even if I have to drive him across town , To another middle school , IT is a Horrible School ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

I am a former student of HHMS (I graduated about four years ago) and can say with absolute sincerity that I feel it was the worst educational experience I've ever had. I attended Pittman Elementary School and had nearly straight As every year, as well as nearly perfect attendance. I didn't "like school" per se but I definitely didn't hate it, either. That all changed at Hickory. Other than 6th grade, I was stuck with mediocre teachers who didn't express genuine interest in me as a student or make much of an effort to make their material interesting. I was bullied with nearly no response by the administration and teachers despite it being quite evidence. The school did very poorly with contact, at least at the time, and my mother was unable to get much information about the classes beyond the intro days. i was also required to take Art despite having zero interest and being very poor at it, and was graded on performance. I can go on and on, but I'd really advise against sending your kid here. I went to HS in a different state and graduated in the top 10% of a 650 kid class and will be getting 45K a year in scholarships/aid from a top 50 school. I was getting Cs and Ds at Hickory.


Posted November 6, 2009

This school has been my childrens home for over 12 yrs from my eldest that is graduating this year from GH to my youngest that is in second grade. What can I say. It's just fabulous. SO: help out our fab school by entering a contest for HH to win $20,000 http://www.care2.com/schoolcontest/2901887
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

Every time I have tried to get hold of a teacher they have always returned my phone call or my e-mail. E-mail is great. I know they are busy with 150+ kids so you do have to initiate contact but they always respond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2006

I think that this school relly needs some improvement it what we offer. Being a student i think that we should have more activities that students (including 6th graders) can particiclpate in such as a drama club and things like that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

To Whom It Concerns, For the most part I think Hickory Hills School is a good school. Sometimes I find it hard as a single mother to keep up with the kids grades There are however some really awesome teachers at the school that are definitely a blessing to have the football coach is wonderful. The music teacher is alot better than the old one. Alot of the communication is up to me I know but it is hard to do when you work all the time and by yourself try to keep the kids in sports and grades up. The online thing is great I really like it and I am learning to make time for this online communication with the school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 27, 2005

I think this school is wonderful. The teachers are very experienced and great to work with. My child has had a great time at Hickory Hills. I feel my child is well prepared for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2004

This is the first year my son has been to this school, he is in 6th grade and is in special ed, he is dislexic. It is important to keep in touch with teachers due to this and for some reason it is not that easy at thids school. Although it is not a lot of one on one, which I would like( I gues we all would).I also would like more parent teacher interaction, which I don't feel like I have had this year. Trying to get in touch with a teacher or principal is really hard and getting them to return your call is even worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students42%
Black18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilities9%
Limited English proficient students25%

Math

All Students41%
Black9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunch25%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient students30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient students39%

Math

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities22%
Limited English proficient students57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient students0%

Math

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient students9%

Science

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient students0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White100%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Black 6% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kelly Allison
Fax number
  • (417) 523-7195

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3429 East Trafficway
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: (417) 523-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Greene Valley School
Springfield, MO



Pershing Middle School
Springfield, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT