Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pittman Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

As a parent of several students that now attend and have attended in the past, I would have to say that Pittman is a top notch school when it comes to educating our children. My children have been in other schools and this is the first school where that light actually went off in their eyes. They look forward to school everyday and can't wait to tell me what they learned when they get home. I would highly recommend Pittman to other parents looking to put their children in a school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

There is no better feeling as a parent when you send you child to school , You knowing they are safe well educated , And respected , Thats what Pittman is all about . The neighbor hood is going bad but the school keeps us in the area To bad I cant say the say for Hickory Hills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

We moved into the school district from another grade school. Out of all of the teachers my child has had at Pittman only one really tried to teach to him. I have been dissappointed with their arts and education program which are subpar compared with the other school. I am going to request a different school for his siblings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I have my four year old in the wonder years program and Love all the teachers I've met! Mrs. Davison is so wonderful with all the kids! Thanks for the great support in the transition for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I'm so thankful for such an amazing group of people! The principal, teachers, and staff are very energetic and have a great love and passion for our children! They teach our children to respect one another and to be the best they can be! My child is in kindergarten and absolutely loves school! He is learning and developing so much. I know it is because of the encouragement he receives from every teacher/staff member at Pittman. He absolutely loves his teacher! She is so very patient and has such a great attitude of warmth & love for the kids. Mrs. Hicks is an awesome teacher! I know my son will always remember her for that. Another thing I've noticed about the entire school staff & students is they all try to help one another out as a team! That's why Pittman truly is the Best school in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

We love Pittman and it's staff! The Principle and teachers are all caring and nurturing . School spirit is evident too! I went to Pittman K-5 myself and am now 47 years old and have a Kindergartner in the same room I went to K in. Over the years it has definitely improved! 5 stars from this parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I think pittman school is the best school my child has gone to,i couldn't ask for a better school or better staff members anywhere..... Thanks pittman, d.Sanna
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Pittman is the best! I gone there for 3 years and I could'nt be happier! Mrs. Debra Berger is the greatest teacher ever!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2007

As a first time kindergarten mom Id have to say Pittman has been awesome and my child loves it. The principle is dedicated and energetic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

My son went there last year, he was in kindergarten. Mrs. Nancy Wiser was his teacher and she is the best teacher. She teaches each on a leave that they can understand. She will always hold a special place in my heart! My son wants her next year for his teacher. Thanks to her he is going to First Grade! I will never forget her. So to all you new parents good luck on getting her!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 74%
Black 7% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Laura Batson
Fax number
  • (417) 888-2568

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2934 East Bennett
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: (417) 523-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Wilder Elementary School
Springfield, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT