Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Springfield, MO
Students enrolled: 501
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Reed Middle School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
Great school! Whoever said about kids hospitalized and getting beat up every week is wrong. It sounds like seething that happened at another school but not Reed. Reed is the best place to study

Reed Middle School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
I don't know what school that crazy parent is talking about but it is not Reed. There is absolutely not fights every week and the administration does take care of bullying and does not tolerate unruly and undiscplilned students. Of course it is not the staffs fault when parents believe every word that come from their students mouths and the parents are argumentative and unruly. I had 3 students attend Reed and I would do it again.


Reed Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
This is the worst school in springfield. There are fights every week and children getting beat up so badly they are hospitalized. The principle does nothing and the counselor labels all the kids into cliches. The teachers are good but can only do so much due to lack of leadership from administration. Do not let your children be subjected to the bullying and harrassment that is going on at this school.

Reed Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Hard working teachers that care about students. Students with a lot of heart overcoming many obstacles.

Reed Middle School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Reed Academy is a GREAT school! My daughter ABSOULTLY LOVED Reed Academy! The Teachers Are very friendly and are academically up to date! Which in most schools is a big issue! They have many sport programs for the kids ( Football,Track,Soccer,Volleyball(etc.)) And Many other side programs(orchestra,band,(etc.)) I was VERY pleased with this school!!


Reed Middle School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
Reed Middle School was the worst three years of my life. Instead of teaching us how succeed in the real world, we were taught how to become completely dependent upon others to be responsible for us. The administration is crazy, most of the teachers just want to get their paycheck and leave, and the students are rude. In the three years I went to Reed and graduated in the top of my class, I left with a piece of card stock saying I graduated and zero friends. If you want to be teased to the point of suicide by teachers and students alike, then this is the place for you!

Reed Middle School 3

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
my son is getting in trouble at home because the grades that he is being given is based on a number that is not what it should be. by there own admittance, the teachers are not entering all of his work. quarterly reports should be based on all the work for the quarter. the lack of ethics in this school is failing. Please see that this problem does not continue

Reed Middle School 5

Posted September 04, 2011
- a community member
I am currently a 6th grader in the Reed Academy part of Reed Middle School and I love this school so much. The teachers and principal are crazy but in a funny great way. They can be strict if they need to be. The other students are really friendly and in the 7 days that school has been in session, I have made about 60 new friends. Amazing school.


Reed Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a community member
I'm a graduate of Reed MS and it was the best school I've ever been to. The teachers were very nice and cooperative, and did /not/ neglect the students. Who ever says they did obviously does not know what they're talking about. As far as I know the school's going through construction right now, though I don't find it necessary, and they've changed the name to Reed Academy, and added in more honors classes, and classes you can get high school credits in. So they're definately improving :D But anyway, this school really is way to discriminated, and I hate that, because I really and truly love this school.

Reed Middle School 2

Posted October 28, 2008
- a community member
This is the most difficult school to slove issues with parents and students. They look down on these parents and subject the children to low self esteem. this does not apply to everyone, but it does happen and it needs to recognized before it is to late for those students that need that extra help to achive the goal the SPS has set forth and the uplifting of their test scores. I just want to add that children are affected by the character and personality of the teachers and staff. We all must be postive role models and show them there is a better life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reed Middle School
2000 North Lyon, Springfield, MO  65803
(417) 523-6300
Last modified Reed Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reed Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top