Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robberson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2013

I have 3 children who attend this school. I couldn't ask for a more caring and dedicated staff. They are all top notch! I love the community at this school. My kids have excelled in their education since moving here from their previous school. I couldn't be happier with my children attending Robberson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I have two children that have attended Robberson their entire elementary career and you couldn't ask for a better school. The principal, Mr. Huffman, is top notch. He knows every child by name and you can see his dedication and love for each and every child. The teachers are kind and caring, they do so well with the children and the resources they have. I am proud of the school and the education they have given my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Staff is the best. I wish there were teachers this dedicated to their students when I was in school. We have 2 kids there now, and another starting Wonder Years in the 06-07 school year. We just wish the city would invest in air for the rooms. Top Notch staff and my wife and I love them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

I could not ask for a better school for my children. All the teachers care so much and are very supportive. The principle is always very active and supportive in everyting thing the children are doing daily. The school is a very family oriented place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

I give credit to the principal and to the dedicated teachers.Mr.Livingston#1 guy loves kids and always encourages them to do their best,very energetic and positive,understanding,great.Rita in office is so helpful and always in a good mood.The staff such as nurse,caffeteria lady and others are great too.Its like a big family and help others willingly and sincerely.This community needs caring staff like that to help our children in this environment that they live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Robberson is the best school in Springfield. 2 of my 3 girls have attended there since wonder years and they absolutely love it. We have talked about moving and my girls tell me that only if they can still go to Robberson. They have both just blossomed so much from being there. The principal is top notch. I told him that he has a gift, he knows all those kids names, 250 plus kids and that is awesome. I guess we will have to wait to move until my girls go to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

I would have to say that it takes a very dedicated teacher to want to teach at this school. There is maybe two parents out of each class that may try to be involved,sadly enough. Still a high turn over rate, I imagine due to the low income area. Yet my child who has an IEP in place and strugles with learning, came out mastering all subjects. Love the principal and teachers comentment. Yet the school could use some community involvment and money wouldn't hurt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2003

The teachers at Robberson Elementary work hard giving kids a top notch education. What is even more amazing is that Robberson has a student body turn-over of around 50% a year, very little support from admin, and parents that think more about the next beer (or worse) than the well being of the little ones. Robberson has the best staff from the principal down to the newest staff member. They work miracles every day and do it 15hrs, 5+ days a week. Thank you teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White37%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students30%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 11% 17%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kevin Huffman
Fax number
  • (417) 523-1895

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 East Kearney
Springfield, MO 65803
Phone: (417) 523-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Weller Elementary School
Springfield, MO




Boyd Elementary School
Springfield, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT