Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westport Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 559 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

My son attends this school. Coming into the year as a new student, I am finding everyone to be helpful, and concerned with his education. They seem proactive, and not reactive. I would so far recommend this school to other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My son loves this school why you ask because of the teachers there and the whole stuff as well. for me I also like it because they are so understanding and willing to do what it takes to work with your children. when my son came here he was entering 1st grade he was having a very hard time getiing the hang of reading and his teacher worked really hard with him as well as the reading teacher and now my son can read like a grown adult. i would reccomened this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

My son was a straight A student til we came to this school. His teacher acts like the fifth graders that she teaches. I do not like this school and would recommend that you take your kids else where and fifth graders parents ask you kids how there teacher acts. My kids teacher acts like a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I have noticed that the teachers at this school does not know how to handle children. I have a very active child and moved here last year.she was a a b honor student until we moved here. when trying to set up a time to meet with teacher/principal they have not returned my phone calls for a month now.Please keep your children away from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I agree that they need to do something about the parking and after school pick up. I can't tell you how many times either myself or my daughter have almost gotten hit trying to cross the street or just by impatient driving...the school is ok..habit program is a good idea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I like the school, don't get me wrong. But there are quite a few problems with the school that I just don't care for. The parking is just terrible. And the other thing is, the teachers focus more on Habit points then my child's education. Habit stands for homework, attendance, behavior, initiative, and traveling. Is there an E in there? E for education. My son gets straight A's, but yet gets points taken off because he's an over active child with a huge imagination and is acting as a child should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

I appreciate the HABIT program! My son is in the 1st Grade and understands that those things are things he can control. I love the teachers so far and have seen great progress in my son's education! He is reading and writing at a great level and his math skills have blown me away! The music and art departments are so cool! The Holiday Program is always a riot to watch - they tie everything together so well! I can honestly say that I'm happy with the education my child is getting from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I like westport alot it has good teachers but the flaw to the school is this thing called H.A.B.I.T (homework,attendance,behavior,initive,travel). they are scored for their performance at school. All Grades!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students22%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White26%
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students25%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White28%
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students18%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White23%
Free or reduced-price lunch18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students18%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White23%
Free or reduced-price lunch19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students27%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White29%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students32%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students24%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White27%
Free or reduced-price lunch19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Black 11% 17%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gary Tew
Fax number
  • (417) 895-2139

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 South Golden
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: (417) 523-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


York Elementary School
Springfield, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT