Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jeffries Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

My oldest daughter is finishing up 5th grade, and my youngest is in 3rd. We have been a part of Jeffries since 2008. I'm a highly educated person and wouldn't hesitate to move my children if they weren't being educated properly. I can honestly say that we have had the BEST experience with teachers and staff at this school. Jeffries has a little bit of everything; black kids, white kids, rich kids, poor kids, you name it. The only complaint I could possibly offer is that it's a bit overcrowded, but SPS is building a new elementary in the area, and I suspect that will thin Jeffries out a bit. Also, this school was recently remodeled with a secure entrance and brand new gymnasium that doubles as a FEMA storm shelter. Coupled with a strong PTA, excellent principal, Watch Dog Dads, and tons of other volunteers, Jeffries is a truly great place. If you're deciding between homes and looking for the best education for your child, look no more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

I love Jeffries school so much!!!! Our oldest has been there for two years going on three. Our second child is about to go next year. We love being apart of this great school. Dr. Cooper, teacher, secretary, school nurse. I mean you name it. They all have such a heart for the kids. We almost bought a home but it took us outside this school district and we backed out because we love this school and teachers so much. We couldn't ask for a better school. Thank you so much to all Jeffries workings for making it such an amazing place to be at and for our children to have a safe environment to go to school everyday:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

We were told that it is ok for the teachers grandmother to volunteer in the class room some times... but not us as parents in the class room!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This is a horrible school. The lack of communication about anything is appalling. We recently received news from the Jeffries staff that our daughter was given a flu vaccine without parent permission. After a 3 hr goose chase and many phone calls, we were told that our daughter must not have actually received the vaccine at the Jefferies health fair on 10/14/13 because they don't have a permission slip for her. When asked for the original permission slip that I specifically wrote Don't vaccinate on, it cannot be found at Jeffries school now. Now we are left wondering if the reason our child was sick for close to 2 weeks in Oct was because she received the vaccine at her doctor s office and then another dose days later at her school. We do not know for a 100% because one person says one thing and another says something different. None of them have documentation to prove the truth. After all of this, we cannot get her transferred to a new school, we are told we have to have a sit down with Dr. cooper, the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This school is child centered with a great staff. The curriculum is excellent with high student achievement.


Posted May 13, 2013

My son is ASD and has been going to Jeffries for 3yrs now and I can't believe how much he's improved socially as well as academically. The staff really cares about the student's and they do everything they can to make sure the kids are getting the best education possible. I credit his teacher's for his love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

My girl friends son is flourishing in this school. the staff is very helpful in keeping us in the loop on where he is excelling and lagging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Jeffries is a great school! The teachers are committed to working with parents to ensure the very best education for children. The parents are a tremendous support for teachers and students. What a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I love Jeffries Elementary School because they accepted the challenge of educating my son who has high functioning autism for five years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

We have the best teachers who are 100% dedicated to the Jeffries kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Everyday at Jeffries I witness teachers, parents, and students going out of their way to help the kids that go to school there. The staff there are great teachers and great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I am a female Substitute Teacher for SPS system. with a Masters in Education. I have Sub. at all SPS schools. This is the best elem. school I have ever sub. for. I have had over 70 jobs at Jeffries. The staff is great and they do not sit and complain about the children in a derogatory manner during lunch or planning time, they are a great team and always discuss children with empathy and professionalism. The principal is caring with a wonderful elem. personality. I have transferred my child to this school---that says a lot.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2007

I think that Jeffries is a wonderful school. My son has had great teachers and we have a super staff. Our teachers perform at a very high standard and our principal leadership is great. The PTA is not a clique. They are very easy to get involved with and are always looking for any new people that want to be involved. Jeffries is a great school! I would not send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

This is my sons very first year of school. He is in kindergarten and I am so glad that he goes to Jeffries. He has a great teacher. The principals are very nice and understanding. They talk to him like big kid and he loves that. I think that Jeffries is a great school. All the teachers are wonderful and very polite.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Black 10% 17%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4051 South Scenic
Springfield, MO 65807
Phone: (417) 523-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




New Covenant Academy
Springfield, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT