Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Charles West High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

I went to West in the 1990's so my perspective is a bit outdated. I have done very well professionally and make a very nice salary even by pre-recession standards. None of this would of happened without the dedicated staff at SCW. This school saved my academic life. Several teachers there were nothing short of heroes and went above and beyond the call of duty to help me learn. I cannot express the depth of my gratitude.


Posted May 7, 2010

i dont really have much of an opinion about this school but i do know that bigger isnt always better i got to orchard farm and its probabily one of the best public schools in st. charles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2010

St. Charles West has a new million dollar football field but is hundred of thousands below budget for the next school year. The gym is excellent and now so is the football field, however teaching the students seems to be lacking and communications to the parents leaves a lot to be desired. If your child has a very low grade in , for example, english 1 would you tell the child to take a more advanced English class. Yep at St. Charles West you would and then wonder why the child is making a low grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

As an alum from St. Charles West, I can say that I greatly appreciated the school. There were many excellent teachers, great extracurricular activities, and the students got along much better than in some of the larger schools in the area (I'm looking at you Fort Zumwalt). I would recommend living in the district more than, say, the Fort Zumwalt or Orchard Farms areas.


Posted December 31, 2009

Saint Charles West is clean, and may have great teachers, but MAP scores have plummeted in the last 10 years. SCW is below neighboring schools in academic performance. Otherwise I agree,the sports and band are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Saint Charles West is a clean, organized facility with great teachers and staff. They put the students needs ahead of their own personal life and teach to fully enhance the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Both my children graduated from SCW and both received a quality education that enabled them to earn scholarships at the Universities of their choice. One child was heavily into sports while the other was into student government and the arts. As diverse as their interests were, SCW was able to nurture their interests in a safe environment. Whenever I had a concern, I called the school and spoke to a Guidance Counselor or the Principal immediately. They always listened attentively and addressed the situation. I was very pleased with the school's social dynamic, academic and athletic achievements. I would recommend this school to anyone moving into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

St. Charles West is an excellent school. My children have had wonderful teachers. My oldest son did quite well on the ACT. In fact, he is a Missouri Bright Flight scholar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I graduated from St. Charles West in 2004 and while West has it's problems just like all high schools, I am constantly reminded of how glad I am that I attended West rather than other high schools I hear about. This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2005

I a currently a senior at SCWest also and I love it! I came from a private school and think the education at West is amazing and there are a lot more opportunities at a public school than at a private school. I also think that the students and teachers are great! Two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2003

St. Charles West High School is an excellent school. I am currently a senior and feel as though I have gotten a quality education from a very dedicated administration and faculty. Our school offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities. Our sports, in particular, this past year set a new school record for sending six teams to the State Tournament. Our sports program at West was also given the prestigious honor of being named the number 1 high school program in the St. Louis metropolitan area. For several years our test scores have been above state average in the MAP and ACT.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
34%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
47%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students75%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students58%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Black 10% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Droste Rd
St Charles, MO 63301
Phone: (636) 443-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Duchesne High School
St. Charles, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT