Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Becky-David Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 934 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

I had twins go through Becky David (they just graduated this year) and I was very pleased with the school. There is a lot of parent involvement, the teachers seem genuinely concerned with the students education and the 2 times I had to call the school about issues on the bus there was immediate action taken. I have no complaints what-so-ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

i am not a parent but i went to becky david two years ago and all my friends were saying that they were so a happy to going to barnwell and i didnt get it i rememberd kindergarden,i no eveything about that day two and it was 8 years ago,i had thought about how it would seem like a life time before i would go to middle school,6 years back then i could barley count to 100 but before i knew her came the last day of school,last day 5th grade and the last day of elementary school to say the least it made me sad becky david gave me some of the best six years of my life teachers pricipals and staff are the best of the best i hope that when i have children they will be able to go to this wonderfull family friendly enviroment


Posted April 24, 2010

I have been a Becky-David parent for over 9 years and have had 3 children attend the school with one still being there currently. I am very impressed with the school, administration, support and parental involvement. They noticed my kindergartner needed help in reading and although I was in denial they convinced me that he could use early intervention. This took phone calls and friendly persuasion from several experts at the school. I am grateful that they pursued this and convinced me to get this additional assistance. My son is now reading at 3rd grade level/close to 4th grade and he is more confident than I have ever seen him. Becky-David is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Becky David is filled with people who care about the value of a good education for our children, from the teachers and staff to the parents who generously give of their time and the students themselves. They are good students who are always willing to help others, do what's right, and put forth extra effort for the good of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

My son has a learning disability and the teachers and staff have been nothing but helpful to us. They noticed that he was falling behind in kindergarten and and were very quick to assist him. He is now in first grade with an IEP and is doing well. My fifth grader has never had a bad teacher and is at the top of her class in reading and math. I went to this school from K-6 grade and wouldn't send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

I don't know what happened in 2007 to cause the negative posts about the school. My son has been at Becky-David since 2006 and in his second grade year 07-08 he went through alot of testing and evaluations to find out what was causing his 'issues'. After the school brought in quite a few specialists and we did home evaluations of his behavior etc we determined that he does have special needs. My son and I are Sensory Defensive. After we worked with the school we all came up with an education plan for third grade. ie. seeing the OT/PT teacher etc etc. It was like night and day. He went from having only one friend to having over a handful and his third grade year was amazing. The schools help and extensive involvement has helped my son do a complete 180 at school. This school is a dream to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

This is my child's second school and it is SO impressive. The teachers are constantly receiving professional development, the students seemed so engaged in their learning and the communication with parents is amazing! I wish my child could've started Kindergarten here. Hats off to Becky David!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

We moved to this area last year and based our home search on greatschools.org reviews. I am so pleased with Becky David! The new administration (principal and vice principal) are approachable, understanding, and very caring individuals. This school will go out of its way to make sure EVERY child is reaching their potential. Many thanks for a wonderful academic experience for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Nice school and teachers are nice. No support from school when it comes to special needs or learning concerns. School either doesn't have funding or they don't want to help when kids have learning problems or behind. They won't agree to testing. No reading or math tutoring available after 4th grade. Funding????????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

This is my son's first year at Becky David and I have to say that so far I am very impressed with the school. Everyone is so nice and seem to really care about the students. I am very happy with the curriculum and satisfied that my son is receiving a great education. The PTO is very involved with the school, and the amount of extracurricular activities available is great! I could not have chosen a better school for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

I think this is a great school! The faculty and staff are great! I can see why anyone would move to this area just for the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

My children love Becky-David and the administration and teachers have been very supportive. I think the special ed problems are a school district problem and I would suggest the SPED parent's voice their concerns loudly to the district for adequate funding and resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

If you have a special needs student this is not the place for you! They have a large PTO that does great things for the school and the regular ed. children. It is an ok school for the average child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

This school has a huge PTO, and the building is very nice, and clean. With a typically developing child they have proven to be fair. It is with Special Needs Children that this school is very far behind. The Special Needs staff seems very uncaring, and hate to be questioned regarding what they are actually doing to help these children. Don't get me wrong there might be one or two caring, loving people in the sped department, but that is it. When it comes to dealing with administration, they say what ever they need to say to end the conversation as quick as possible, but then they take not action! If you have a special needs child and are in the area~~ move or seek private schooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students72%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White75%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Black36%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities12%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Black27%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilities35%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students62%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students52%
Black18%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Black 6% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1155 Jungs Station Rd
St Charles, MO 63303
Phone: (636) 851-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Zion Lutheran School
St. Charles, MO




Trinity Lutheran School
St. Charles, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT