Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 834 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

If you have a child with special needs, I would steer clear of this school. Principal turns a blind eye to what is happening. Additionally the office staff is cold and dismissive. Just an overall bad feeling in this school. Happiest day of my life when we rid ourselves of this institution.


Posted May 14, 2013

Awesome educational experience for all of my children. Central Elementary is the school for the extremely gifted SEGA students. They also have a wonderful gifted Spectra program which my children thoroughly enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

We have had nothing but great experiences at Central Elementary! The teachers have been wonderful, and they have done an excellent job preparing them for middle school and a lifelong love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I found the teachers to be great and very communicative with the parents. When children had special needs, they were taken seriously and accommodations were made. I was sad when one of the vice principals that worked hand in hand with our family toward success of my children took a higher position in administration. Overall, we really loved our experience at Central when my children attended there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

There is an overabundance of behavioral problems in this school which is distracting for my daughter. The office staff is very rude as well. I am pulling her out and putting her in private. At least there she has a chance to learn something other than poor behavior. Not up to my standards at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

Excellant staff all the way around. My kids love this school and so do I. We have never had a problem with any of the office staff being rude as some of the other reviews state and we have been a part of the Central community for a very long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

The teachers are great and my children love going to school. However, I hate going in the office and dealing with the unfriendly and often rude office workers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I would have to say that I have only come in contact with great teachers, my child has been very fortunate in this area and has excelled academically and socially. The principal seems a bit unfriendly and unorganized, the office staff is rude and very unpleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

This school does have great resources and some great teachers. Too bad the pace and atmosphere is set by a very lazy principal. The district states that it will challenge every child to their best abilities, not at this school. My kids are good students and always get the highest marks and have exceptional behavior. The consistently never have any homework and ask many days to just stay home. My kids tell me 'I won't learn anything in class anyways'. This school has no focus and struggles to keep up with the standards. It seems like anytime there is a goal to be met, the whole process will go by poorly planned and generically executed. I get the impression that many teachers just show up to work with no compassion to excel their students learning abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I am very happy with this school. I have three great kids there and all of there needs are constantly assessed and met. The GREAT majority of the teachers are very professional and very friendly. The administration is very willing to listen to parents and has done a great job in stressing positive feedback for positive behavior. The office could be a little more on the nice side, but not a big deal. The new PTO is working very hard to create fun extracurricular opportunities for the students. I am happy to have my kids at this school. I am an involved parent and I feel that I have a very accurate picture of the way things are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

The administration at this school continues to struggle. Parents are met with an 'us against them' attitude starting with the rude office staff. The PTO has re-invigorated itself and has had a positive effect on school events. The Parent Involvement Committee was not maintained by the admin. but it did have a + impact in the half year that it did operate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I am very disappointed with this school. The school is unorganized and lacks leadership. The administration is not aware of what is going on in the classroom and have not clearly defined an effective discipline plan. Be warned that if you complain about this school your child may become a target and it will negatively impact their learning experience. There are some very talented teachers at this school unfortunately they are out numbered by their less skilled colleagues and ineffective administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

we recently moved into the district and i am very disappointed in this school.they are very unorganized and not the most friendly either while i do like some things i am extremely displeased with alot more!!My children do seem to like it though so i am trying to more optimistic.Iam the mother to three brilliant students here who will shine at any school they are in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

This school is disorganized and unprofessional. Some of the teachers are cold and disrespectful to the students. I believe it is not the best environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

It's a great elementary school! Teachers differentiate instruction to meet the needs of each student. Administrators listen well to parent concerns. Parents feel comfortable interacting with the classroom teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

My child has been attending Central Elementary for 3 years now, and I can say that the school has some of the newest resources for the area, such as a new Media Central Class and some classrooms have computers. The big disappointment at the school is that they enforce rules upon the children that will discriminate a child from engaging in activities for various reasons such as having forms returned and signed by parents with little time and no apparent due dates. It seems that schools from this district focus more on wanting to take the rights away from the students and parents than it is focused on challenging their students to optimize and challenge their individual advancement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilities15%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities23%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Black12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students32%
Black12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White35%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilities15%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Black18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students57%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students43%
Black0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 74%
Black 14% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stacey King
Fax number
  • (636) 851-4104

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4525 Central School Rd
St Charles, MO 63304
Phone: (636) 851-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Zion Lutheran School
St. Charles, MO


St Joseph School
St. Charles, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT