Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
St Charles, MO
Students enrolled: 1,795
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Francis Howell High School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
I cannot say enough positive things about Francis Howell High School! Great teachers, coaches and students! My daughter has thrived at FHHS academically and socially and is proud to be a Viking!

Francis Howell High School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
My son is a freshman this year. After the adjustment period, he settled in and is doing really well, even though a few are honors classes. It's a large school, so it really helped that he was in marching band. Had a chanced to meet and bond with others students at band camp. Parents very involved and supportive.The teachers, counselors are helpful and encouraging. Good communication to keep parents informed. Lots of school spirit in music, sports, etc. Nothing is perfect, and anyone looking for trouble can probably find it. But on the whole, if you want to learn and excel, you can find more than enough opportunities to do that at Francis Howell High. Go Vikings!


Francis Howell High School 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of two high school students and I often substitute teach at Francis Howell. The support and enthusiasm is awesome. I love being up there.

Francis Howell High School 5

Posted January 30, 2011
- a student
A year ago I went to this school. And had a blast. Tranferring from Middle School to high school, was long and tough. The people at the school are real nice of all grades. I was in one class with sophmoores and juniors they are a little imature but very friendly. So is the staff. They have nurses there all day during school. The students schedules involve alot of walking to get to class. Next Year theres ganna be a new building, so they are tearing down the older buildings. Lunches here run at $2.00 for students which isn't bad. The school is near Bush Wild Life. So it might not be the ideal neighborhood with all the trees and its near a highway. The buses are older. Your child will have no problem in finding his or her bus. Buses are well ordered. School starts a little too early for my taste. But this school is by far the Best High school I have attended.

Francis Howell High School 4

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
Proud to be a Viking parent. My child enjoys the choice of clubs and athletics. She enrolled in the multiple AP classes offered, and is doing a wonderful job. The Parent Viewer issues have been addressed. The principals are very visible and hands on at the school. They address parents of incoming freshman and welcome all parents to participate in school activities to make it a better school community.


Francis Howell High School 3

Posted May 13, 2009
- a student
Parent Viewer Never Works Teachers Fail to Reply in Timly Manner Teachers are as rude as some students Principals do job well Counsellors are a joke to say the least good activity program/sports Teachers lack caring element in learning

Francis Howell High School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
Currently have a Freshman here, and am disappointed in the switch from middle school to HS. Middle school had very little homework, tests, etc and the teachers let them do a retake if they did not get a B or above. Not helpful in the long run!! High school has tests or quiz weekly, with assignments daily. More realistic, but my child was not prepared. This prinicpal should interact with MS Principals to get them on the right track. Makes for a harder transition. This school is big, 1600 students, and you have to be on the ball and organized. The teachers are okay and will respond, but their online parent viewer is a joke. Half the teachers don't put grades in until right before midterm or even later. It's not unusual to have a grade posted a month later. No excuse for that. My child rarely knows their project grades.

Francis Howell High School 5

Posted February 22, 2005
- a parent
Had second thoughts about sending my Honor Roll childern to Howell High... No regrets... Great school, Facilty and Administration showed lots of commitment and pride.


Francis Howell High School 5

Posted February 01, 2005
- a parent
FHHS is a great school. My daughter has excelled in academics since her freshman year. Her teachers are very dedicated to the success of each student. 5-Stars.

Francis Howell High School 1

Posted September 12, 2004
- a parent
Ive had bad experiences with this school, the teachers havent been willing to give my daughter the one on one extra help shes asked for. Overall bad school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis Howell High School
7001 Hwy 94 South, St Charles, MO  63304
(636) 851-4700
Last modified Francis Howell High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis Howell High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top