Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francis Howell Central High School 2

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
As a parent, I am not pleased with the administration of this school. Considering that I have a son with ADHD and he has an Individualized Education Program - I do not see the type assistance that I have seen in other schools nor have I experienced an active roll in teacher/parent communication that is significant in helping my child achieve. I have done my part in trying to help my own child but I have experienced nothing but "attitude" with respect to the staff. There is a level of "equal expectation" for all students and a lack of realization that is necessary in respect to the learning disabled and the staff has been rude and disrespectful towards me as a parent as I have tried to advocate for my child. It is difficult to reach anyone in authority to solve matters and there is a definite "Attitude" which develops from a lack of communication and it becomes evident over a period of time that your child eventually becomes the target of their anger if you report their level of incompetancy ... when you do indeed advocate on your own childs behalf. I would not recommend this school for anyone with children suffering from ADHD or Autism... as it is not taken seriously.

Francis Howell Central High School 4

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children that graduated in 2007 & 2010 from FHC. They have excellent accelerated & honors classes that have greatly helped my children in college. The teachers were available before & after school to provide extra help. The Drama & Band programs are excellent, and those teachers go above & beyond to teach life lessons to the students. The counselor did not seem very knowledgeable about college searches other than SCC, Mizzou & MSU and specific majors, so we had to do most of the research on our own. Principals seem a little out of touch with the school and teachers. I hope FHC NEVER ends the college credit classes. One of my children left FHC with 33 college credits and graduated from college a semester early; and the other child left FHC with 23 college credits & will graduated next May one year early. Saved a lot of college tuition money! The placement test sometimes just works if your are good at taking tests. The classes provide the opportunity to learn. Athletics are ok...some of coaches are not very good and it shows. Overall FHC provided an excellent education, and my child out of college now has a great job with a nice salary.


Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted January 12, 2012
- a parent
My daughter goes to Central and I think it is a great school! Her teachers have all been good and I really appreciate how well they keep in contact with me about her progress. I even get an email from her Science teacher letting me know how the class did on tests and quizzes before the school day has ended. The teachers volunteer their time before and after school to help go over material if the students are struggling. I have had some contact with her counselor too and he is always very helpful. I stopped by the school to bring my daughter something during the day and the principal happened to be in the entryway. He was very friendly and made me feel like he really cares about his school and all the students. I believe Francis Howell Central is an excellent school!

Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
Both of my 'special' kids received an excellent education here... from the one who was in accelerated and honors classes to the other who needed extra help just to pass... this was a perfect school and excellent district that really met all their needs.

Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Francis Howell Central High School 2

Posted November 16, 2008
- a student
I am a graduate of this school and I don't believe it prepares you for college as the other high schools do. The academics are just O.K. Teachers don't take time to learn your name and don't help you if you are doing poorly in a class.

Francis Howell Central High School 4

Posted September 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
The most impressive thing about Francis Howell Central High School is the Theatre Department. The students in the program are extremely prepared for the future in regards to leadership, team building, and cooperation. The department puts College-Level performances on a high school stage. Truly wonderful students, on stage as well as behind stage.


Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted May 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Francis Howell Central High School 5

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
Good kids, helpful staff and well educated teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis Howell Central High School
5199 Hwy North, St Charles, MO  63304
(636) 851-4600
Last modified Francis Howell Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis Howell Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top