Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harvest Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

Despite the lower rating I LOVED this school. I had an amazing experience with my sons kindergarten teacher and the principal and asst principal were awesome. The one and only issue I had (with the lunch staff) was address VERY quickly and to my satisfaction. We are moving and my son will be going to a different school and I am very sad about it. We love Harvest Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

My twin daughters started kindergarten at Harvest Ridge this year. I was suspicious at the beginning because of the ratings but it turned out that it is a great school. Two teachers that we dealt with are very organized, caring and knowledgeable. They have always worked for the best interest of our daughters. They have been easy to communicate and collaborate. I especially like the school's principles "caring, respect, responsibility and perseverance. I am not rating it five because of the overall test scores the students of Harvest Ridge is getting since I still expect it to be higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

One of the best principals around. We didn't know anything about the school when we moved here, but we are so happy with the teachers, the administration, and the school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I have been more than satisfied with every aspect of Harvest Ridge. My child's teachers have all been caring, well-organized, and excellent instructors. The principals are involved; and the office staff knows - literally - every student by name. Even the cafeteria staff is loving and patient during what must be the most chaotic time of the school day! There are family-friendly activities planned year-round, and parent involvement is welcomed. I feel our entire family has been blessed to be a part of the Harvest Ridge family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great school, great teacher to student ratio, clean, great academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

We love everything about Harvest Ridge Elementary. The Prinicpals are wonderful. The Teachers are very caring and patient. We love all of them from the office staff to the lunch ladies, to the janitors. Our son has learned so much in the two years he has been attending. He is learning about self respect and repecting others. We all could learn or relearn that ourselves. Thank You to everyone at Harvest Ridge for helping our son to be the best he can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

I have two sons who have gone to this school and both have maintained honor roll status. I have found teachers to be responsive to all my concerns and the grounds are well maintained and safe. Their are family activities planned throughout the year which are great fun. The principle has been great and my kids have flourished since their first days. I would recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2003

My son (4th grade) and daughter (preschool program) attend this school. This is a great school to send your children. It's very safe, located in a great neighborhood subdivision, and has a resource police officer on site. It is a year round program and has just added an early childhood class to the school this year. The school district offers an excellent onsite before/after school care and care during cycle breaks. The national scores are somewhat deceiving because this district tests the students at the beginning of the school year verses the standard at the end of the school year. I believe this school is above average in its overall delivery of educational services and quality of teachers. I wish it had more extracurricular activities. No complaints about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 74%
Black 13% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brien McCarthy
Fax number
  • (636) 851-4128

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 Harvest Ridge Dr
St Charles, MO 63303
Phone: (636) 851-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Lutheran School
St. Charles, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT