Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
I am extremely pleased with this school. We have two children enrolled. Both have progressed through the primary (preschool) and are now in the elementary school. It is excellent. The teaching is superb. The other families are friendly. One thing I am very grateful for is the lack of cliques and exclusive friendships that I have seen at other schools. (I speak from personal experience with an older child and the experience of my friends at other well reputed public and private schools in St. Louis/St. Charles.) While my children both have close friends they like, the atmosphere of friendship and teamwork in the class as a whole is unbelievable. I am very happy with the academic standards. I believe that especially at the elementary level, Montessori is unique Yes, as we know from our older child, you can have a good education in most standard schools. Montessori offers something special. When you go in the classroom, you see children working happily. The teacher is definitely in charge, but the classroom is not about her personality. It is a children's place. Importantly, the quality of the work displayed by the children is extremely high. Campbell offers excellent value.

Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. I wasn't sure about Montessori when we first signed on. Kids ... leading themselves? How does that possibly work? But I knew what definitely was NOT working: public school. I was seeing that inquisitive light in my son's eyes grow dimmer each day he stepped off the bus. And I knew we had to make a change. Now I find that as each year passes I am more and more grateful that our family found this school for our children. I know some people see it as day care. Or preschool. But it is much, much more than that. Having spent our time in the Elementary building, I can honestly say that I am blown away by the quality of instruction our children receive there. I say this not to "sell" the school or push any agenda. I say this because I am a parent. I have the same concerns you have. And I wish I had found this school years earlier than we did, because it has made a world of difference in the lives of our children.


Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
The Campbell community of students, parents and faculty is fantastic. Our family felt welcome from day one. The school offers a variety of events and opportunities to participate in our child's education. Campbell is diverse in every aspect of the word. This diversity has greatly enhanced our child's experience. We feel very fortunate to be a part of this community.

Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
We have a 3 year old who has been attending Campbell Montessori School since he was 16 months. The toddler classroom is a very loving, nurturing environment where the littlest students at the school learn to do very big things! At 16 months, our son was clearing his lunch table, feeding the fish, pouring his own glass of water, drinking from an open cup, building towers as tall as his little body, and other amazing things that I didn't know he was capable of doing! They also spend a great deal of time outdoors, exploring their playground and the surrounding areas. The primary classroom has been a step up, and he continues to thrive. The teachers push them to learn new things, and interact with one another with respect and kindness. We are so very happy with our experience at Campbell Montessori School!

Campbell Montessori School 1

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
I sent an email to the Director explaining why we left with no response. I summarized below. In my opinion this says a lot about the integrity of the school. No milk Lunches- - I'm very conscious of proper nutrition, but felt pressure not to bring carbs, sugar, too much food, food that he couldn't open, etc. I was always worried he wouldn't be able to get into his lunch and would feel pressured to do it himself even if he WANTED a little help. I've observed how these situations are handled and I felt that when he's asked for help the response was a bit curt for my taste. Fall on playground and picking up wet- He fell on the playground scraping his forehead and back. Nobody noticed. He was also picked up 3X with wet clothes. He had wet himself on the playground without anyone noticing. He was visibly wet. No locks on doors Pressure to fundraise Creativity- I would like him to be exposed to more creative activities such as painting, dramatic play, etc. Dropping off at curb- I completely understand the reasoning behind this policy, however it definitely isn't the best option for us. XXX asked me to walk him in everyday and would cry or have to be talked into getting out of the car.


Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
Our children have been attending Campbell Montessori for 4 years now and we are very pleased. The Montessori philosophy is such a natural and positive way to teach children. The calm, hands on environment has made learning exciting for our children. Our 7 year old often says, "I can't wait to do fractions today." They are given the tools and guidance to be life long learners and that is pure joy to see as a parent!

Campbell Montessori School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
This school is not safe for your children. They are neglectful and safety is not of a top concern! I wish that I had listened to the previous reviewers years ago, but chose to give Campbell the benefit of doubt and send my kids. I truly regret that now. They put my kid's safety in jeopardy, on several occasions, and I paid to send my kids to this school! That is why I'm writing now. Raising money and fitting into the status quo are highly encouraged. And be prepared to have absolutely no communication. I had to fight with them to figure out what supplies were required, and treated like a fool for asking. They are highly judgmental and will call you a bad parent to your face! Rude, is the only word I have for our teacher. Money, money, money reigns supreme. Even if you pay on time and are never late with a payment, you are considered to be lesser than if you do not contribute to the annual fund, etc., etc. We have now chosen not to send our children back into this environment. We were also made aware of the fact that this school's AMI certifications are for the most part a joke. We gave them our best shot, and lots of chances, but in the end they just fall way too short. Bummer.

Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
My child attended this school for 12 years-from age 2 1/2 thru 8th grade. I did MY homework prior to enrolling her here-educating myself on different types of schooling and formats available. I wanted my child to not be encumbered with being made to do age appropriate activities but to be allowed to learn at their own pace which Montessori allows. I liked that children were allowed to be in class with older and younger children- it makes for empathy towards younger kids, not the mindset that older kids reign supreme.I liked that there were not typical "grades"-there also weren't any dummies or brainiacs where kids got labeled. They are all on the same playing field.There is much greater ethnic diversity here which is always an education in and of itself. My child was never bored and never hated going to school. She missed it in the summer time. Every teacher we had was amazing and offered unique things to her education. They want to be there and enjoy what they do which creates passion in the child.They teach the kids to think and use their brain. She did great transistioning into high school and has carried a 4.0 GPA The only negative I can say is they don't have a high school.


Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of the school I can say from first-hand experience that my mothers decision to enroll me at age two was the possibly the best she's ever made. I was essentially raised in the Montessori environment and that has made all the difference. I was enabled to interact with students years below and above me, learned at my own pace, and was equipped with all the necessary skills I needed to advance from eighth grade into high school. My teachers became some of the most influential people in my life. I was challenged in ways that led me to reach potential beyond what I myself knew I was capable of. I always felt safe and accepted by my peers, and found it very easy to make friends in the mixed-age classrooms. Rather than being required to sit quietly at a desk with my nose in a textbook all day, the lessons were much more active and involved; things like maintaining and exploring the ecology of the on-campus trails, learning how to work with wood and power tools, going on outings to local resources for further investigation of various topics, and other hands-on, real-life experiences and learning methods. I'd say this has supplied me with a great educational foundation!

Campbell Montessori School 1

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
Our family had two children enrolled at Campbell for two consecutive years. The primary programs are hit and miss depending on the teacher your child is assigned and the elementary grades are awfully executed. The problems in the classrooms are a direct result of the poor leadership at the school, which refuses to see any problems that they should be resolving. There are much better choices in Montessori education than this. Look further for the betterment of your children - we did.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Campbell Montessori School
3880 Shady Springs Ln, St. Charles, MO  63301
(636) 477-8200
Last modified Campbell Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-7
Campbell Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top