Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Independence Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 751 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Awesome staff and environment!!! My kid's kinder teacher was always available when I needed her to answer my questions. And she gave her students challenges all the time and my kid really enjoyed them! Can't be better. I hope my kids next teacher is also great person too!! Can't wait school starts!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

I have two children at Independence. Been involved with the school for 4 years now and haven't had a bad teacher yet. Everyone from administration, support staff and teachers has been excellent. I feel my kids are getting the attention they need and a quality education. Can't ask for much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

It has been a wonderful experience for my daughter and I, here at Independence Elementary. The staffs here are friendly, motivated, open minded and very flexible in helping my daughter and all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I like Independence Elementary, but I feel like there are too many 'clicks' - whether it be the parents or students. I don't feel like there are enough parent volunteers. It seems like the same volunteers for everything. I don't feel like the principals are available enough for parents. Other then that, I love the teachers at this school, and so far they've done a good job at keeping political correctness and political brainwashing at bay, which is very important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

My children started at Independence after having gone to parochial schools. The staff and kids at Independence have mad it an easy transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

Wonderful school, Great teachers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This is a wonderful school with a terrific staff! Love the teachers so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I can't say enough about this school. The teachers, staff, parents and children are wonderful. My older children went to a parochial school and got a good education but not nearly the experience that my son is having at Independence. He personally knows everyone at school. The teachers, administration and staff are second to none. They truly care about every student. The most surprising thing to me is that the parents and children are so respectful and just really good people. I found there to be a lot more 'not so nice' people in the private school. Everyone is treated very special. You can feel the energy and happiness when you walk through the door. I could go on and on. This school is the best kept secret in St. Charles county! I feel truly blessed to be in the Independence attendance area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Independence is a first rate school with quality teachers and staff. The class sizes are reasonable as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Black 5% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4800 Meadows Parkway
St Charles, MO 63304
Phone: (636) 851-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Messiah Lutheran School
Weldon Spring, MO


St Joseph School
St. Charles, MO



John Weldon Elementary School
Dardenne Prairie, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT