Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
St. Joseph, MO
Students enrolled: 270
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
When we enrolled our daughter in pre-k at St. Joseph Christian School, it was really a leap of faith. We didn't have the financial means to commit to 13+ years of Christian education but we couldn't deny the strong leading we felt from the Lord to enroll her here. As He always does, God had a plan and He has provided for our family in amazing ways through the years...we are so grateful for His provision and for St. Joseph Christian School. We could never have guessed all those years ago the impact SJCS would have in our lives. Not only has our daughter received an excellent education founded on biblical truth; our entire family has been supported in our spiritual walk and challenged to grow in our faith. We've come to look at the cost of an education at SJCS as more of an investment--an investment with eternal returns. Of course, the best thing about SJCS isn't a thing; it's the people. We've been so blessed by the SJCS teachers, staff, and the other wonderful Christian families we've met. We are so grateful God led us to SJCS; we can't imagine having our daughter anywhere else!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
We have been apart of the SJCS family for over 15 years. We thought we would just give it a try for Pre-School for our daughter and we never had a reason to leave! We re-evaluated our decision as she was entering highschool. She wanted to stay and we were very pleased with the high academics that were being offered. She graduated with 22 college credits! Having a strong foundation in her faith, she was able to transition to college very easily and is involved in Campus Ministry. Being apart of a smaller school has afforded our son to be able to participate in many extracurricular activites such as Football, Basketball and Track, as well as be apart of the State Scholar Bowl Team, Student Council and the School Play. All of these are great things, but the main we reason we love SJCS is that there is an atomosphere of faith. Our children are learning to Love the Lord and to love others through our weekly chapel, missions opportunities and community service projects.


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
SJCS tuition. Oh, and about that finances thing, you can make it work too! We just consider it as our car payment and choose to drive cheap cars that are paid off, we don t have cable and are working on fixing up our new house as we can afford. These are small sacrifices when we look at our boys today. At SJCS they are taught and encouraged to find God s Will for THEIR lives and they are equipped with the tools to DO IT!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
After 1st Grade we knew the public school environment wasn t working for our oldest son. My mom was a Special Ed Teacher and after many discussions with her, we felt like we had to find an environment for our son where people would care enough to find out what motivated this kid or he was going to end up on the Special Ed track. We found St. Joseph Christian School and decided to invest in our son. We didn t really have the money for this, but enrollment testing put him in the 30th percentile in reading and math and we had to do it. Right away the counselor got on it and got us material to work with him over the summer. That 2nd Grade Teacher is probably the reason our son is a productive member of society today. She absolutely dug in to find God s Will for this child and if it didn t happen from one direction, then she re-grouped and went from another until he got it. We got all kinds of notes so that we could work together to get this kiddo up to speed. School wasn t easy for our first son, but at SJCS he learned what it takes for him to be successful and he can do whatever he sets his mind to today because he knows how to learn.

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
So son #2 was ready for pre-school, we loved SJCS, but decided to send him to our church Montessori pre-school because it was cheaper. Money was tight. Well . . . kindergarten rolls around and shortly after school started the teacher advised that he was way behind because he didn t even know his alphabet and the other kids were already reading sight words. When we started working with him on the letters we would go over and over them and when we showed them again later it was like he had never seen them. When we asked him why he wasn t learning his letters he said, That he wasn t ready. We informed him that that was TIME for him to learn his letters NOW! After we removed the Montessori mindset, he had his letters learned in about 2 days. But reading was behind because of this and his teacher worked with him 1-on-1 the whole year. The awesome thing is, he left kindergarten THINKING he was getting 1-on-1 work because he was the BEST reader, not the worst. Because his self-worth was intact, he went on to excel in school.


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
When our third son was ready for school nothing was going to keep us from sending him to SJCS for pre-school and boy are we glad, it has been smooth sailing! Funds are tight, but it's worth it! As my husband and I look back, we always considered SJCS as an alternative to public school maybe for high school to help avoid the kids getting off on the wrong track, but with what we know now, Pre-School, Kindergarten and First Grade are CRITICAL to lay a solid foundation for the REST of the school career!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
We initially chose SJCS for academics, what we stay for now, because funds are tight, is the faith family that we get to do life with. We didn t realize how much God was left out of the public school until we found how much He is a part of SJCS. Our oldest son came home one day in Second Grade and informed us that the 10 Commandments were like punctuation, They make us stop and pause and give meaning to our lives. That was precious to us as new Christians. A pastor once told us that 90% of raising your kids is who they hang out with. We KNOW the families our kids are hanging out with. We KNOW that for the most part their values and beliefs match with ours. In the 7th Grade our middle son lost his left eye in a fireworks accident. It was devastating. He was the quarterback of the football team and had to redefine WHO he was. The school rallied around us and shouldered so much that it really eased the burden of having to walk through such a trial. Two years later our house burned. It was pretty humbling to NEED so much again so soon, but the SJCS Families blew us away again by the outpouring of love and support and again helped us walk through such a trial.

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Private Christian education isn t for everyone, but for our family, it has been the best decision. Now, having three children here for over 7 years, I am thankful for the great gift we have received through SJCS - an excellent education, friendships with like-minded children/families, spiritual equipping for the present and the future all built upon the foundation of God's word. We had to sacrifice much for this choice and also learned to trust God in new ways as He provided perfectly! Yet, another reason to consider SJCS - to have a strong "ally" in our children s lives with their spiritual interest at heart. The staff here go above and beyond to speak directly to our children's hearts and ours as parents! The class sizes are small as well and much easier to manage, making individual attention easier and making it more difficult for students to fall in the cracks. It is a blessing beyond what I could have imagined.


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
St. Joseph Christian school was a tremendous help to our family as we moved into town from another state. We were worried about the academic level of our early elementary student. Since she has minor learning disabilities, we were afraid St. Joseph Christian was going to be too difficult for her. She thrived due to smaller class sizes and the individual attention her teachers were able to provide for her. I never knew a school could be so knowledgeable in assisting us with our children. My oldest daughter enjoys participating on the athletic teams in middle school. We are so thankful for St. Joseph Christian School and the opportunities it has provided for our children.

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
St. Joseph Christian School is a great place to have my kids. Their biblical teaching goes right along with what we teach at home and my kids are challenged not only with academics, but with their faith. My daughter is going on her first mission trip this year in large part because of how she has been inspired by SJCS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Christian School
5401 Gene Field Road, St. Joseph, MO  64506
(816) 390-6111
Last modified St Joseph Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
St Joseph Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top