Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mehlville High School 5

Posted March 09, 2013
- a student
As a current student at Mehlville, I absolutely love it. The school has been contacted by many outside, statewide and national programs that allow kids and teens to get involved and do things educational in a non-school related way. Through Mehlville I've gotten into programs like Freedoms Foundations at Valley Forge in Pennsylvania and Teens Make History at the Missouri History Museum. I have two friends who were apart of the Missouri Scholars Academy. I don't see why parents in the area choose to send their students to private schools when Mehlville is teeming with opportunities! The school is constantly adding new classes to their curriculum, among them being AP classes and college level courses that are accepted by surrounding universities. The teachers at Mehlville are all good--they're all different because they're different people. I feel you can argue this about any school. Don't let the number of enrolled students scare you away from choosing Mehlville. The school is large enough and spacious enough to hold all these students. Friends are easy to make. For those parents commenting on Mehlville's diversity, my opinion is that just a bunch of white kids is no fun.
1 person found this helpful

Mehlville High School 3

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
Apparently, spelling and grammar are not in the curriculum. Maybe it's all that "diversity". The area has plenty of diversity, now that we are over run with Bosnians and city kids from the voluntary deseg program.


Mehlville High School 1

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
This school is known as a great school. which is not true. the kids at this school arent being controlled by the school employees. The kids sleep during class, and skip school daily. Not many schools do have such carlessness of the kids. My daughter has attended Mehlville and it is sad on how unsatisfactory this school is. It is talked of so well, but when it comes to the kids talking about it and the carlessness of the teachers, it really is not that great.

Mehlville High School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
What a fantastic school!!! Why pay for private when Mehlville has so much to offer. Fantastic teachers, great curiculum (including many college credit classes. So many clubs and sports to participate in!! Very safe environment. Wonderful students, many cultures.

Mehlville High School 5

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and they absolutely love it. They have a great program for gifted students. They have every extra curricular activity you could possibly want. The sports programs are fantastic!!


Mehlville High School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
Three of my children graduated from Mehlville HS. All of them left Mehlville living up to their potential as fine human beings and scholars. My children obtained 19, 22, and 36 college credit hours while students at Mehlville. (We got better at obtaining credit as we put more children through school). My oldest child had a 2.86 GPA at a different HS; after we moved to Mehlville he averaged 3.7 . It is a diverse high school. The teachers are caring;any of them grew up in the area. Positioned as it is between St. Louis City and the wealthier suburbs, this school has every excuse to be wild. It is instead a highly disciplined, focused HS. The principal, Vince Viviano, is probably the force that keeps it on track. He is a bulwark against chaos. Mehlville HS supports the arts. Sports are a source of pride. I highly recommend Mehlville HS.

Mehlville High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
best sports school in st.louis. and is definitely one of the best academics school in the state. and definitely the best spirit. they beat their rival who we like to call chokeville but their real name is oakville but i think chokeville sounds better, anyway every year in every sport.

Mehlville High School 5

Posted February 21, 2008
- a parent
This school is one of the best I have ever seen. I personnaly believe that every teacher in this school could be a viable candidate for the Teacher of the Year.


Mehlville High School 5

Posted January 15, 2008
- a parent
My daughter graduated from here last year. It is a wonderful school and she received an excellent education. She is now attending college and doing very well

Mehlville High School 5

Posted January 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mehlville High School
3200 Lemay Ferry Rd, St. Louis, MO  63125
(314) 467-6000
Last modified Mehlville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mehlville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top