Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Ross has a great small town feeling to it, even though it is part of a large district. Teachers are very friendly and caring--- as well as very smart and competent. I have a child who receives special education services and the way the general ed and special ed teachers work together is amazing!

Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Ross, which has won the National School of Character designation, is an excellent school. When our daughter was two years old, we bought our house which is walking distance from Ross, exactly for that reason. Our daughter is now in fourth grade at Ross and every year we have loved her teachers. Even the janitorial staff is friendly and courteous and seem to genuinely care about the children. And with class sizes of 18-20 kids and a T.A., I am confident that my daughter is receiving a high-quality education.


Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
I have a 1st and 4th grader that attend Ross. Love the culture and proud that they were one of the first MO Schools of Charactor and now a National School of charactor. Teachers are great, parent community is great!

Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Ross is everything I could want for my kids. Big choice in choosing where we bought a home.

Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended Ross Elementary for several years apiece and we have been very pleased with their experiences there. Their teachers have been outstanding and treat each child as an individual, with an emphasis on each child's academic AND personal growth. Communication with most of the staff has been excellent; emails are promptly answered and conferences are thorough. Parent involvement in the classrooms is encouraged and welcomed by teachers. We really couldn't have asked for a better public school.


Ross Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Our family is relatively new to Ross -- we have just a first grader -- but we were welcomed with open arms. Plenty of opportunities to get involved and enthusiastic teachers and staff to work with. Not to mention that it is a National School of Character - something to boast about!

Ross Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
My children just started at Ross last month (transferred from out of state) & this school is outstanding. It deserves the title "School of Character' as character education is obviously highly important. The teachers are involved and interested. The principal is on top of every single thing going on at the school. My son hated school at the old school, now he loves going to school. I think that says it all! I have given Ross a 4/5 on the parent involvement category because I don't see a ton of parent involvement. As far as how parents are treated, though, I haven't yet met a staff member who was not kind, friendly and welcoming. My child's teacher is very informative and approachable.

Ross Elementary School 2

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
We had a poor experience at Ross, and will now be paying for private school for the forseable future. Not a good play to send a very bright child. If your child can already read and do basic math at the begining of K go somewhere else least htey be dumbed down and told not to read etc. past the rest of the class.


Ross Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
My child attended this school in grades 1-5. Ross provided a very safe and nurturing environment for my child's growth and development. Students are not only taught core academic subjects but also character education and social skills. I initially was concerned about the overall test scores but, after becoming more involved with the school, I realized students graduate with the required academic skills to succeed in middle school though they could step up some of the ciriculum in the later elementary years. My only regret is that foreign language was not an option. The Parkway Elementary system has been utilizing a newer math curiculum called Investigations. The jury is still out on it but the teachers also supplement with more traditional approaches. The school offers variouls clubs and activities. The teachers are very committed as is the principal and her staff. Ross offers an excellent environment for learning and growth.

Ross Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
Ross School is an amazing place. The staff and administration are tops! They have a strong emphasis on academics and also on building character. My kids love this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ross Elementary School
1150 Ross Ave, St. Louis, MO  63146
(314) 415-6700
Last modified Ross Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ross Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top