Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2010

I attended RHS 1962-1965, and received an ecvellent education. Back then there were ove 5,000 students in the school! BABY BOOMERS! iT ISa shame it has gone downhill with undeachievers, drop=outs, numerous fights and unruly behaviour! Terrty Klasek


Posted December 29, 2009

After spending a semester at Roosevelt, I can see why some of these comments have been made. It is true that there are a lot of rules, but they are there to keep the students safe. Gang violence is par for the course in St. Louis, and the schools are no exception. The principle is an incredible educator who is doing his best to keep his students safe. When things start to clear up and students can follow simple directions (such as no hoodies in the classroom), there may be some relaxation on the rules. As for the post concerning style and shoes, this is typical of any high school. Adolescents are like that; they try to make groups and leave others out. If groups were not made according to style and shoes, they would be made due to other things.


Posted July 23, 2008

i went to the school and i love that school so much the teacher care everybody care and i would go back if i had too
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

While I have come across teachers and councelors who actually care about the students, they are far out-numbered by the ones who don't. Unreasonable rules have been put into place making it feel more like you at a correctional faciltiy and not at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

This school tends to use to much disipline. It's not a good school, and I don't recommend it to anyone.


Posted February 21, 2006

Well I was a student a Roosevelt 9th grade center and attended big Roosevelt during R.O.T.C days and or sports and sometimes I was scared to go to school it's all about style and shoes at school and when you report to the teachers they really don't do anything so to resolve the conflicts I just moved out of state that's how serious it was! -Angela
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2005

Well, I graduated from Roosevelt in 2004. Its a very nice school compared to other public schools that are falling appart inside and out. Teachers are great because they care about the students like they were their own kids. Yes there are sports and afterschool activities but most students dont take advantage of the things that are available. Very good math teachers, and not to ferget that we won the academic olympics in 2003. Of course there are improvements needed especially in the salaries of teachers. Even though they are not paid enough they are still there doing there best with the equipment they have, they need more involvement of the community and businesses around the school. It can be improved with efforts of people working together. If I could go back for another 4 years I would just to play soccer and football.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 24, 2005

I graduated Roosevelt in 2003. I have not done any science expierence, but that doesn't make the Science department bad. P.E. is all on the student. I have seen fight/riots throughtout the entire school year, but so what, it's a bad neighborhood. There are several good teachers, some teachers need to go back to school, but other than that, most of the teachers know what they are doing. All teachers give out homework.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

My daughter is in 9th grade at Roosevelt. After a full semester in Science, her class has yet to do one Science experiment. Often times in P.E., her class simply sits to fill the time. She reports roaches, rats.mice, almost daily fights. Tough/violent environment. Twice mob-like activity outside school grounds/neighboring area to extent that even a city bus driver, out of fear, passed up the students waiting to get on the bus. A couple good teachers, many mediocre teachers, a few very poor teachers (some not fully certitied). She rarely has homework. The bar is lowered.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
10%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
7%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
34%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
9%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students14%
Black9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch16%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient students22%

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students27%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilities13%
Limited English proficient students21%

English

All Students15%
Black16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch12%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students0%

English II

All Students22%
Black21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilities6%
Limited English proficient students6%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students7%
Black8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch7%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students3%
Black2%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch2%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 17%
White 13% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Terry Houston
Fax number
  • (314) 776-0152

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3230 Hartford St
St Louis, MO 63118
Phone: (314) 776-6040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Elizabeth Academy
St. Louis, MO


Msb High School
St Louis, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT