Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Visual/Perf. Arts High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2011

I am alumni, class of 1979, I was there the day they opened the doors to VAP as it was not called cvpa at that time. I enjoyed every moment there. Mr. Wilde, Principal and Mr. Overby, vice-principal were true leaders in our school. They were there for most every event held, including PTO. Ms. McGahn, Ms. Brennan, Mr. Toretta and the list goes on were all great teachers. I will cherish my days there forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I graduate 2010. I transfer to central my sophomore year from a private school. BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER! The academic is horrible, students behavior is horrible, and the teachers are awful. For a school that is base on art, the art department even sucked. Most of my classmates had no artistic talents. Some of my friends said that you had to audition to get in but I didn't have to. I just applied. My brother did to and he doesn't take any art classes. Most are there because they didn't want to go to Roosevelt high. Most of the students at Central don't want to learn so they tend to disrupt the class and every two weeks or so there's a fight. And the most annoying thing is that somebody always pulls the fire alarm as a joke and it's on for most of the class period. It's just an awful environment to learn in. Central puts you in a lazy state of mind. Classes are so easy you don't have to attend to pass and most kids I knew didn't and still pass with a 3.0 GPA. Central does offer AP classes which are harder but there's a very limited amount of AP classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2010

Central VPA is a wonderful school. The school from day one listens and prepares the student for their goals and desire once they graduate. Their goal is to help the students achieve their life goal. The principal and staff are very approachable. I like the fact I can also sign in on line and see the assignments my child has and review her grades on a weekly basis. The classroom sizes are wonderful! I do wish we had more parent involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Central was in desperate need of professional leadership. The new principal, Amy Phillips, has completely overhauled everything from discipline to attendance to academics. Expectations are high and students have risen to the occasion. Amy Phillips has a fantastic rapport with both students and staff and is truely treasured by parents who were overwhelmingly longing for this change. A+! Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

i am a student at CVPA, and since Amy phillips has become the new princapal, the school has really shaped up. No one hardly skips anymore, they have people tracking attendance, and the arts programs are really excelling. I would not recomend the school for academics....
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Central has helped open my grandson`s eyes to many talents he had not realized he had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I graduated from cvpa a few years ago and i loved the school unfortunately after my first 2 years my art majors ceramics and metalsmithing which i was flourishing in and considered to be my future careers and college majors were dropped due to teachers leaving and were not picked up again due to insufficient funds i believe i agree with the comment below me about not believing the head principle to be as good as hes made out to be but i will rave about Mr.Anthony who was an amazing vice principle and could have run that school amazing he addresses issues to help students and was always really well respected. If your student prospers in dance or photography this is the school for them they will succeed, and its in a good neighborhood now which is a reat plus!


Posted October 17, 2008

Great school for talented students. Most of the teachers and staff are musicians and artists themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

Central Visual and Performing Arts High School is the best choice to become successful in life. The academics are great if you want to learn and the arts are wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

Our child attended CVPA for 1 1/2 years. The teachers are wonderful, yet lack administrative support from the head principal. Lack of support resulted in disruptive behavior in and out of the classroom. When visiting the school on different occasions over the last 1 1/2 years the head principal was only in attendance once. He did not attend Parent/Teacher Association meetings either when we were present. The assistant principles were the ones who worked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

Central Visual and Performing Arts High School is the best school of the Arts in the Midwest. I am an Alumni of this school, so I would know. Students can learn alot education and goal wise, if they put their best foot forward and there is plenty of opportunity for greatness as long as we the parents do not limit our children. Overlook the minor flaws of some of the teachers. My daughter is a dance major, she loves it. She also minors in Glee Club. It is my belief that she will go far in these areas. The programs at this school are excellent but choose wisely according to your interests or abilities. Parent involvement is a must and rewarding. I give my child the boosts that she needs to suceed. CVPA is all about what you make it. Highly Recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Central VPA has been 4 years of fantastic! The classes are relatively small, most teachers care, and the kids are talented, gifted, and to say the least, unique! Besides a talent for photography, my child has developed a love of writing, literature & history! Her ACT scores are above average and she has been accepted into the college of her choice! Not all kids are cut out for a visual & performing arts school, for us is was a great fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

I think it is not a good environment for my child or any child that has goals of becoming successful in life.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
20%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
14%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
23%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students26%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students55%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students36%
Black30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students70%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students13%
Black8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch9%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 17%
White 22% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Amy Phillips
Fax number
  • (314) 771-0135

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3125 South Kingshwy Blvd
St Louis, MO 63139
Phone: (314) 771-2772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gateway High School
St Louis, MO



Msb High School
St Louis, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT