Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wilkinson Early Childhood Center

Public | PK-2

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

This is a great school. My daughter is finishing her last year here and moving on to 3rd grade. The principal is wonderful and really wants the school to be the best. The PTO is very active and productive. They have a lot of fun educational activities throughout the school year that students really enjoy including a lots of festivals. They also have a brand new outdoor garden. The only problem is the school only goes to 2nd grade. Then you have to find a new school to finish elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

I grew up going to this school. It was the best experience, the teachers made sure you were on task. Helped you develop more knowledge. Made friends got to know every one. Helped me open up and get comfortable around people. I recommend you enrolling your child here.


Posted January 25, 2012

My child has been at this school since kindergarten and will be graduating 2nd grade this year and even though we have had problems with bullies I do have to say Wilkinson is a very good school. The teachers are very involved, they love when the parents enteract in the classroom and are involved. I get constant emails from my childs teacher letting me know his progress and helping me figure out what she and I can do together to help him. They will not give up on ur child and starting this year they are bringing in tutoring programs which I'm very excited about that. One of my favorite programs is toy swap night. Each child brings in a min of 2 toys all the toys get put on tables then they get to pick 1 toy off a table the kids get to play with the toys and eachother, they love it. But the best part is what ever toys are left and theirs always alot, they go to children less fortunate. Thats just one of the many,many great things that the school and PTO have to offer so yes I would recemmend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I have one son "graduating" from Wilkinson this year, and another entering this fall. I can not say enough good things about this school! Our principal, Julie Wuch is outstanding. The teachers are nuturing, dedicated, experienced professional educators. The parent community is very active and engaged. I am so proud of all the good things happening at this public magnet school. It is the best choice in the city for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

My son is in 1st grade this year at Wilkinson, and this is his third year at this great little SLPS magnet school. We are very happy with the quality of the education he is receiving and Ms. Wuch, the new principal, is wonderful and proactive with dealing with issues that arise. My son really loves the "hands on, minds on" interaction with the other students in the Project Construct environment of his classroom, and the PTO at this school is great and really involved. This is one of the only St. Louis Public Schools that has a PTO email list AND a Facebook page! What people seek in some of the area charter schools can be found right here in St. Louis if they just look hard enough. Take a tour and see for yourself! Wilkinson is wonderful for early childhood development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I have two boys attending Wilkinson ECC. This school is offering my boys a strong education through a method that excites children about learning and school. The cirriculum is very 'hands-on' oriented which I feel is important to all young children, especially boys ( I have three boys). They are learning reading, writing, math, art, music, science etc through fun, kinestetic, interactive ways. Each classroom (not just preschool and kindergarten) has a lead teacher and full time aid. The principal is a wonderful leader and works hard to make her staff a very cohesive group. The teachers take the time to learn how each child learns best and tries to work with their strengthts and weaknesses. The PTO is strong and understands what a wonderful school we have. The three components of a strong school are present. Great teachers, administration and parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My child is a preschooler at WECC. The teachers and staff are an exceptional bunch. They seem to work hard to teach and know each individual child. I recommend this school every chance I get!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

Both my children started at WECC as pre-schoolers, and I have been completely happy with our choice to send them here. The teachers and staff love these kids and teach them well, both in academics and in citizenship. I recommend this school to everyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

I put my son in Wilkinson in Kindergarten and he is now in the second grade. The journey has been wonderful. I will recommend this school to everyone. My son has learned so much. The children are so well mannered. The staff is excellent. We are sure going to miss Wilkinson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I have had children in Wilikson for the past 4 years. I have never seen a more wonderful school. I tell everyone I can that they do not just teach my children the nurture them. Every child in the school feels loved and cared for. All of the teachers are just fantastic. I highly recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

My daughter started at this magnet school last year. She can't wait for her second year to begin. We have had a wonderful experience and I don't regret making the decision to send her to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 17%
White 40% 74%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1921 Prather Ave
St Louis, MO 63139
Phone: (314) 645-1202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mrh Elementary School
Richmond Heights, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT