Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-3, 5
Private
St. Louis, MO

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
DPM is children's second home and it is their place for inspiration too. Traditional Montessori curriculum is enriched and expanded with visiting specialists for music, art and sport classes. Children are exposed to various activities and crafts such as weaving, sewing, woodworking, gardening, cooking etc. They sing songs from all over the world, they perform comedy, play harp, recorder and xylophone. There are in-house presentations and field expeditions, camping trips and colonial camp studies. The tuition covers it all not to mention the fact that it is lower than many private school alternatives! Come and observe children working: they are so peaceful and totally absorbed. Elementary classroom are like treasure rooms: there is everything to satisfy child s endless growing needs for knowledge. Classrooms have a low number of students. The founder of DPM has an amazing insight into each child s specific needs and learning style. She has devoted her entire life and career to Montessori education. She is always around to praise her students and to offer guidance to teachers and families. I recommend DPM without reservation to any parent looking for the best in education and care.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
My children attended Montessori school for many years. This fall we had to enroll them in a different Montessori school because DPM is currently relocating. Being myself a trained Montessori teacher, here is what I can say about Des Peres Montessori: DPM offers an excellent education. It is the place where children experience a truly AUTHENTIC Montessori approach in its every aspect. It is a loving and strong community of dedicated teachers and parents who work hand in hand to make sure each child gets all the support and attention he needs. There is no child left behind. School s goal is to open children to the world and to bring all the best in them and that is what the school have been successful at for over 30 years. Here is my advice for the parents looking for the right school: do not get blinded by the look of the school, look beyond. Higher fees do not necessarily reflect the education of a higher standards.


Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
They have dedicated teachers who are truly interested in challenging students' thinking and creativity. It is a place of mutual respect, love and joy. Children are blossoming at Des Peres Montessori and that is what makes the difference.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a community member
There is no other place that offers as much value for your money as this school does. You pay a common private school fee and your child gets the program and the experience that equals those of most expensive and prestigious private schools. Going to that school is like hiring the best private tutor for your child and there is no surprise that many graduates often lead to attend John Burroughs, MICDS and many other fine college prep schools in St. Louis. This is certainly one of the best preschools and grade schools to enrol your children in and feel confident that they are receiving the finest education possible.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
We came to Des Peres Montessori from a different Montessori school which we believed to be very good. Now we realize that it was just a common Montessori school, one of those you can see everywhere: Montessori method can easily be made commercial with orderly rooms arranged with pretty materials. Des Peres Montessori is different because it is true to the authentic Montessori educational approach which educates the human potential . Des Peres Montessori is an experience in itself.


Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
The school was recommended to us for its authentic Montessori approach and for its diverse program. At the beginning we weren t confident that such a small school can provide rich and high-quality program which meets the needs of the youngest as well as the oldest students yes they do! There re specialists who come to school for sports, music, arts as well as other extra-curriculum classes. In order to expand student s horizon, children are regularly exposed to various in-house presentations, day field trips and studies as well as extended trips and overnight studies for older elementary students. Montessori teachers are AMI certified and are true to the authentic Montessori philosophy. The teachers and the assistants are hand-picked by the head of school who won t turn her back on anything to make sure that teachers offer the best quality education that can be provided. Families play an important role in school s life and special events are organised throughout the year to bring everybody together.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
Our children were going to a different Montessori school for 2 years when we moved to St-Louis and had to look for a new school. It took us several months to find the right school. Here s why we think Des Peres Montessori is different: It is a small loving and trusting family-like community where devoted and caring teachers know each child intimately and offer each child as much individual time as the child needs. Older children set example and help teach the younger ones. It is a place of inspiration, learning and mutual respect where each day is filled with opportunities to discover and explore the universe through exercises, studies and field trips. Children are challenged and pushed to the limits of their own ability. The head teacher who is also the elementary teacher always puts the education and children first. She makes everything possible to provide her students with all the best the education and care can offer. The school truly deserves its signature SMALL SCHOOL DOING BIG THINGS.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a parent
Des Peres Montessori is one of the best Montessori schools you could possibly find. People get confused because the school is located in a building which belongs to the Church but the school itself is independent from the Church. There s some negative reviews posted about the school on this page as well as some other sites like Google. These reviews do not reflect the reality and are nothing but made-up stories posted by one person whom school s stuff and long-term parents are well aware of. The only purpose of these stories is to make damage to the school. Des Peres Montessori is and always has been completely transparent about its weaknesses as well as its strengths. Unfortunately there is always somebody who takes a great pleasure in trying to mess thing up.


Des Peres Montessori 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I am not sure I would have survived parenting without Des Peres Montessori. My son's Elementary teacher has amazing insight into my own child. I have learned from her how my son learns best, what he needs from his environment in order to stay calm and focused and how to help capitalize on his interests. I also love how peaceful and completly immersed and absorbed he and his classmates are every day. A classical Montessori school structures each lesson or experience for the maximum benefit of each student, given his or her individual needs, learning style, intrests and natural curiosities. The school truly belives in the inherent greatness in each child and will do everything possible to help that child become the best whole person he or she can be.

Des Peres Montessori 5

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
My child looks forward to going to Des Peres Montessori each morning. The school focuses on authentic Montessori principals and the whole child is considered in everyday activities. The staff is caring, thoughtful, considerate and engaging! Many of the parents get involved with extracurricular activities. It is a lovely environment, and it is such a joy to walk in to the school everyday and see the children enjoying their school and friends.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Des Peres Montessori
11155 Clayton Rd, St. Louis, MO  63131
(314) 432-0410
Last modified Des Peres Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-3, 5
Des Peres Montessori Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top