Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


City Garden Montessori School 1

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
There are some caring and very competent teachers here but the problem is the administration. They are extremely secretive, conniving and obsessed with control. Absolutely no criticism or dissenting opinion is tolerated at CGMS. I've never seen anything like it.

City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and administration at City Garden are committed to involving parents and families in all aspects of education. Therefore, there is excellent parent involvement and collaboration. This year, City Garden students also scored the highest of all of the Charter schools in Missouri on MAP testing.


City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted November 04, 2010
- a community member
City Garden Montessori has great teachers and a stimulating learning environment.

City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
City Garden is a wonderful, diverse community that nurtures children and provides an excellent education. The fact that we are able to access a Montessori school of this quality for free is an incredible opportunity! My children are thriving in this environment.

City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted July 28, 2010
- a parent
My child is starting his third year at City Garden Montessori Charter School and he is exceeding my wildest expectations. A true community school with full involvement of teachers, parents and the neighborhood.


City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Without flash or pretense, this school has completely transformed the life of my son. The staff, faculty, and administration at City Garden Montessori School have done an excellent job of staying true to the principles of Dr. Maria Montessori while accounting to the requirements of a public school system. CGMS offers a true alternative to traditional education. My child is flourishing in the warm and peaceful environment of CGMS, and with a small neighborhood boundary, he gets to live and learn close to his peers. This is how school reform should look.

City Garden Montessori School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
The school cultivates--and practices--positive community values every day.

City Garden Montessori School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
I have four children in this school and it is AMAZING! Even though each has a different learning style and academic level, City Garden challenges all of them just as a matter of course. One is pulled out to do 'gifted' work, he just works with the older kids in his class. The teachers couldn't me more devoted and all are beyond anything I have seen at other schools. It is very structured and the curriculum very demanding. The school sets its standards high and the students reach them! We are so lucky to have City Garden in our neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

City Garden Montessori School
1618 Tower Grove Avenue, St Louis, MO  63110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (314) 664-7646
Last modified City Garden Montessori School is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top