Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-10
Public charter
St. Louis, MO

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a community member
I've been going to this school since I was in 6th grade and now I'm about to be a sophomore I love it so much :)

Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a community member
i will be attending this school 2014/15 school year and i believe all the way to high school. I'm very excited about going to this school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a teacher
GCAA has 530 students enrolled at the current time. We are adding 120 more students next year. It is an Arts school but has high standards academically also.

Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
GCAA has been a wonderful solution for my granddaughter. She is thriving academically and socially as never before. This a relatively new school and is still developing. They have now added a ninth grade and rules and procedures continue to evolve and improve. The staff and faculty care about their students and listen to the students and parents. This has been a great experience for us and we are extremely happy that we found GCAA.

Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
GCAA has been my daughter's school since 6th grade. She is currently a sophomore, and will be in the first graduating class in 2016. She is a quiet kid, interested most in her music and art. She loves this school and is thriving. She is taking advanced academic courses and is being challenged every day, but loves them. Who loves AP World History?! The school has one of the most wonderfully diverse populations, and even though we've suffered through the growing pains of being a brand-new institution (only four years ago) and dealing with a charter school board that has minimal understand of a real arts education, the school is succeeding beyond all expectations. Students love to be there. Students WANT to be there. They are part of a warm, welcoming, and creative community that has turned education on its ear for many of these kids. I can't say enough good things about it - we feel incredibly fortunate to be part of this community.


Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Magical. This is the best word to describe an environment where middle and high school students are thriving both academically and artistically. Our students accept one another regardless of race, sexual orientation, or clothing choices - they are bound together by their love of the arts. It is a very well integrated school both in terms of race and socio-economic background. The Principal is outstanding, as are all of her hand-picked teachers. Only in our 4th year, we already have waiting lists for every grade. This is a publicly funded tuition free charter school with more family and community support than any public or private school could ever hope for. We have an outstanding attendance rate because the kids WANT to come to school every day. GCAA was awarded an astonishing 98% by the state board of education in August 2013. Anyone interested in what a school SHOULD be like, ought to schedule a visit.

Grand Center Arts Academy 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
Grand Center Arts Academy has just been given a 98% rating by the State of Missouri. The guidelines for rating are more numerous than those mentioned on this website. I'm a retired teacher and grandmother of two students at the school. They love going there ad are enthusiastic about the curriculum and atmosphere of the school. I think they are getting better every year. There is very good communication between the school and parents. Parent participation is welcome and forthcoming. Test scores continue to rise. It is a good school destined to be even better. Gloriana L'Ecuyer

Grand Center Arts Academy 2

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
GCAA or Grand Center Arts Academy is unsatisfactory.When i came here i was expecting a controlled and balanced learning and talent balance but instead i got a school filled with verbal and abusive bullying and i honestly don't care for the school.They focus more on bullying the schools fame instead of building character

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand Center Arts Academy
711 North Grand, St. Louis, MO  63103
(314) 533-1791
Last modified Grand Center Arts Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grand Center Arts Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top