Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Middle School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a community member
I was a student of Hazelwood East Middle for 3 years in a row, my first two years were rough but the last year was wonderful. We had a lost in the school family in 2014 but The Staff was there with us supporting us and the family of the departed. I am glad in had the chance to go here and meet such great people and learn new things from excellent teachers.

East Middle School 3

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
I have two boys at this school, I must say that this school will work with those that want help. I feel like some of the teachers try to come up with new ways to teach. If I could change anything it would be to allow the children more free time at lunch. children should be allowed autonomy in middle school they should not be walking in a line to go to lunch or even having to be quiet at lunch time. My boy's say they don't like the school because of the kids, some of the kids are the cause or reason why the rules are so strict. I believe that they just need to learn a better way to deal with this problem and not punish the others.


East Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
I am glad to see that some of the more recent reviews are more positive. The problem with East Middle School have nothing to do with administration or teachers. As a parent dedicated to my son, I have seen him to very well here. His MAP scores came back very well. However, I also make sure that my son does his homework every night and studies for his tests. My son tells me that he is often the only one who does his homework. One of his teachers offered a study session for a big test. Besides him, only one other person bothered to show up. The problem is apathy among parents and students. A good education can be had here if you work for it.

East Middle School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended this school in the 2007-2008 academic year. She is was 6th grade on Team 6A. She loved school and her teachers were amazing. When I asked her what she did in school that day, she always had an interesting response. Her teachers planned interactive activities, from creating a museum about Africa to playing fun math games, to teaching about the environment and visiting a landfill. I was truly sorry when we moved and I had to pull my daughter from EMS.

East Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2008
- a student
EMS is great! I have some great friends and my teachers really care about me. I was in the board game club last year, and I really liked it. Academic Excellence is annoying, but my teachers are still good. Don't believe the bad reviews. This is a whole different school!


East Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a student

East Middle School
no rating

Posted August 03, 2008
- a teacher
I just read all of the reviews, and am greatly disappointed in the number of misspellings and grammar errors in the parent reviews. This was part of the problem when East Middle was Kirby Middle. Also, at no time were the 6th grade classes ranging from 30-34 students. At the time of that review, I taught 6th grade with a class size of 24 or so per class, which is very normal and manageable. The students had very dedicated teachers despite the many problems that often stemmed from problems originating in the neighborhood. Things have also improved since the school went from 1500 students to about 500 students this past year. Give East Middle a chance to show you that a high quality education is available for any student that attends!

East Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
Things have improved so much since Kirby became East Middle. The teachers are excellent, the class sizes are small, and my daughter gets challeneged. She sometimes complains about too much homework, but I don't think it's too much. She gets to do lots of engaging projects. The stereotypes about East Middle are simply wrong and need to be changed.


East Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a student
I love this school with all my heart.The teachers are great and so are the students.Just because of a stereo-type of a school doesn't make it bad. If teacher and other adults would stop calling us bad we could get better.

East Middle School 2

Posted October 20, 2006
- a parent
This school has a lot of problems. It is a challenging school. My son's teachers are great, though. He is in sixth grade, has really small classes (about 16 per class), and his teachers have high expectations for him. They want him to do well, even if other students and people in the school make it challenging.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Middle School
1865 Dunn Rd, St Louis, MO  63138
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (314) 953-5700
Last modified East Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top