Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Middle School 3

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
I have two boys at this school, I must say that this school will work with those that want help. I feel like some of the teachers try to come up with new ways to teach. If I could change anything it would be to allow the children more free time at lunch. children should be allowed autonomy in middle school they should not be walking in a line to go to lunch or even having to be quiet at lunch time. My boy's say they don't like the school because of the kids, some of the kids are the cause or reason why the rules are so strict. I believe that they just need to learn a better way to deal with this problem and not punish the others.

East Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
I am glad to see that some of the more recent reviews are more positive. The problem with East Middle School have nothing to do with administration or teachers. As a parent dedicated to my son, I have seen him to very well here. His MAP scores came back very well. However, I also make sure that my son does his homework every night and studies for his tests. My son tells me that he is often the only one who does his homework. One of his teachers offered a study session for a big test. Besides him, only one other person bothered to show up. The problem is apathy among parents and students. A good education can be had here if you work for it.


East Middle School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended this school in the 2007-2008 academic year. She is was 6th grade on Team 6A. She loved school and her teachers were amazing. When I asked her what she did in school that day, she always had an interesting response. Her teachers planned interactive activities, from creating a museum about Africa to playing fun math games, to teaching about the environment and visiting a landfill. I was truly sorry when we moved and I had to pull my daughter from EMS.

East Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

East Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2008
- a student
EMS is great! I have some great friends and my teachers really care about me. I was in the board game club last year, and I really liked it. Academic Excellence is annoying, but my teachers are still good. Don't believe the bad reviews. This is a whole different school!


East Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a student
This is a great school!!!!

East Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 03, 2008
- a teacher
I just read all of the reviews, and am greatly disappointed in the number of misspellings and grammar errors in the parent reviews. This was part of the problem when East Middle was Kirby Middle. Also, at no time were the 6th grade classes ranging from 30-34 students. At the time of that review, I taught 6th grade with a class size of 24 or so per class, which is very normal and manageable. The students had very dedicated teachers despite the many problems that often stemmed from problems originating in the neighborhood. Things have also improved since the school went from 1500 students to about 500 students this past year. Give East Middle a chance to show you that a high quality education is available for any student that attends!

East Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


East Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
Things have improved so much since Kirby became East Middle. The teachers are excellent, the class sizes are small, and my daughter gets challeneged. She sometimes complains about too much homework, but I don't think it's too much. She gets to do lots of engaging projects. The stereotypes about East Middle are simply wrong and need to be changed.

East Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a student
I love this school with all my heart.The teachers are great and so are the students.Just because of a stereo-type of a school doesn't make it bad. If teacher and other adults would stop calling us bad we could get better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Middle School
1865 Dunn Rd, St. Louis, MO  63138
(314) 953-5700
Last modified East Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top