Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawthorn Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Theresa Carey is a WONDERFUL 1st grade teacher. She has made tremendous efforts keeping us, as parents, informed of how our child is doing this year. She is exemplary. I truly could not pick a better teacher for my child!

Hawthorn Elementary School 4

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
Hawthorn is an excellent school. We have had multiple children attend HES and the staff is very caring and educated. My kids have had wonderful teachers at this school. My only complaint is the building needs to be updated and class sizes are getting too big so school may need expansion.


Hawthorn Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
Some of the teachers in Hawthorn Elementary are very young and inexperienced. Consequently, the kids would not get and learn the education they deserve. On the contrary, they would lose confidence of their own ability as they are being believed that it is their fault! I had a couple of conversations with the principal but she would always side with he teachers! Therefore, If you can help it send your kids to other school like Henderson or any other school in Francis Howell District.

Hawthorn Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
I think Hawthorn Elementary is wonderful! My daughter is in Kindergarten this year, and her teacher is amazing. She makes learning so much fun, and my daughter absolutely adores her.

Hawthorn Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's 3rd year at Hawthorn and we just love it! They really work with him to help develope his skills. The first year he has a bit of an issue with his attitude and his teachers really worked with him. In 1st grade he had the best teacher! She really encouraged him and he did wonerfully in her class. Now he is in the accelerated learning program and has tested higher than the other students for the same grade. This is just such a wonderful school! I grew up in California when they need to teach most everyone to speak english - they don't expect much from the students and just brush them off without encouragement - this is a totally different situation. Parents should realize how lucky they are to have a school that really cares about the individual child.


Hawthorn Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
All of my kids have attended Hawthorn from kindgargen up; my fifth child is a second grader this year (2009-10). I cannot say enough about this school, the teachers, the staff and the wonderful learning environment there. I have found the teachers to be approachable, interested in input and very helpful. I can't imagine my kids going anywhere else. We have had nothing but positive experiences there from day 1.

Hawthorn Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
I have several children in this school, all of which have attended since kindergarten. This year has been the worst year that I have had with the principles and assistant principle and one teacher. We have had problems on the bus and they didn't do anything about it. I am seriously thinking about pulling my kids out of the school. When the kids don't feel safe talking to a teacher I think that there is a problem. That school needs a new principle that we can go to and the problem be taken care of immediately. Even if it is with someone who has a kid in the school that they are close to. The kids are first not hurting another parents feelings.

Hawthorn Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
I have a 1st & 3rd grader here. Class room teachers have been excellent each year. Overall, school is very good. This school is one of the smaller elementary schools in district, which in this case I think is a positive. The coverage area for this school includes a very wide range of income and family backgrounds, and I would guess ~ 5-10% of the students were born outside of US. This is great to have kids from 3 different continents in my kids class room. Aggregate exam scores for school are just a little above average, but that is mis-leading because if you take out the 'free & reduced lunch' category, every other cross-section / grouping is very good to ecellent.


Hawthorn Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
We moved to go to this school! We had a lot of choices in this area but once we spent a little time with the staff and principal; we knew this is where we needed to be. We are now in our 5th year of having children here and I cannot think of safer and more positive environment for our children. Very, very pleased!

Hawthorn Elementary School 1

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This is the worst school my kids have been to. The principal is very denigrating to the children in the school, treating them like they are much older; the emphasis here is not on learning, but on punishment. Every child is just a little soldier in the system. Seemingly, the only thing cared about in the office is liability, not the students. I understand the teaching in the disabled classes is good, but if your child is not special needs, his education will not be of importance here.

Nearby schools

Hawthorn Elementary School
166 Boone Hills Dr, St Peters, MO  63376
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (636) 474-3999
Last modified Hawthorn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top